August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flock Of Steel

by Baburo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flock of Steel is a game where you command 10 little enforcer bots and try to get them safely to the goal.

Space = Jump
Left Shift = Rocket boost


I ran out of time and missed many features planned. Also, didn't have time to make any sounds or music and lots of stuff was left untextured.
Game is playable though, even though there's only four levels.

Have fun. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Innovation3.57
#391Graphics3.17
#573Humor2.20
#626Fun2.83
#784Overall2.83
#875Mood2.29
#1055Theme2.45
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

Linux version please?

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

Interesting idea and nice graphics, though I noticed that you pretty much discarded the theme.

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14am

rot13, you can see the theme explanation in the main screen. Second, comes from latin word "secundus", which means "following", and from there I got the 10 followers. :) Just tried to think outside the box when I saw all the "Try to beat the game in 10 secs" games coming out.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14am

I liked the idea of controlling all the robots at the same time! But I thought the controls were not very responsible, so it's very hard to get all of them to the end.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Interesting concept. I really like the robot models and animations. I also found that the level difficulty progressed nicely.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Cool game!
Easy to win but hard to get perfect, I like it!

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Nice ideas, lemmings like. Hope you'll improving it later on.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Lemmings!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Love thos graphics, so easy anyway! :) FUN!

dismedia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice concept, I really like it,
litle out of theme :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I liked the concept! Is it possible to save all of them? The best I managed to do was 7/10

JayProg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Nice concept. I liked the little robots too, made me want to get them to the end even more.

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

BenWhi, no idea :D I made the levels 20min before the deadline, there were suppose to be 10 of them, but ran out of time(also, testing time).

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

This is really cool, I love the whole concept and development.
I was loooking for something similar with the spirits of my game (entry) and this make me happy :)
thanks
did you see the natureofcode Shiffman examples?

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

juaxix: Glad you liked it. :) I'm not familiar with Shiffman or Nature of Code, gotta check it out.

rot13 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

I just noticed your post on the main page and changed theme score. I have to admit that it's a really clever use of the theme.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01am

Thanks rot13. :)
I just added a windows, linux and mac builds and the source files.
I can't test mac or linux versions so I hope they work properly.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Nice visuals but Pretty hard to play well, feels more luck if you get many followers in the goal or not.

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Really nice idea, although I had quite a lot of success by just mashing space :) That said, no 10/10s for me, so there goes that argument!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

awesome concept, its hard for me to get more than 7/10 haha

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

Kind of a hybrid of lemmings and a traditional platformer, the way you kind of control the robots, and they kind of act on their own. It's fun and an interesting concept.

Metatheos says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:20am

I had trouble actually developing strategy to save more robots, not sure how much that is my fault. I like the concept though, maybe making timesteps discrete would be interesting, since it might make robot-interaction much more predictable.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice concept! Maybe a bit rough around the edges but lots of fun nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]