August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rush

by JPatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rush is a game about completing a platformer level as quickly as possible. You have to get from one gate to the other.
There are 10 levels to complete. At the end of each level, time you had left is added on to your next 10 seconds. You have 3 lives, lives are lost by running out of time, or falling out of the map.
W to jump,A to move left, D to move right. Click in the center area of the buttons on the main menu, sort of forgot to fix that :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#794Audio2.05
#861Theme2.81
#929Mood2.20
#1079Fun2.12
#1116Graphics1.85
#1153Overall2.12
#1160Innovation1.84
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Pretty funny game, but the gravity is too damn high ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Huhuhuhu nice one! This one made me laugh (in the good way for sure!). Good job!

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Nice fast game. It's fun to play.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The controls feel totally bananas!

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Good ol' concept, all the basics are present :)
Missing some easing (="acceleration") though.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I like the fast paced action. You might consider making it a bit slower but overall very nice for 48 hours!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Whacky jump mechanic, but it actually seemed to fit. I think something interesting could be made by experimenting more with such fast jump times, instead of the super precise normal jumping systems.

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Completed! Final score: 5008.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Yeah, the gravity is out of control on this game. Not a bad platformer otherwise.

poohshoes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

I found it quite difficult to control the character with any accuracy.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I want to play it, but game isn't launching on my Win7 64 bit, Java 7 :) After double click on "run.bat" file I can see console window for about 1 second and then it's exiting. When I try launching manually the .jar file game in general does not starting :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nice idea, the gravity and speed makes this one a tough one.

JPatrick says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Muciojadpl, you need to have java on your path :) I develop on 64 bit win 7, so it is not that.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Crazy gravity, pretty good otherwise.
Also, this game has the best font of any game I've played. There are a few burrs on some of the letters, but it's a very nice looking font.

euske says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

I wish I could use arrow keys + space key for jump.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]