August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SoulReaver

by CarmineGames - Jam Entry

SoulReaver is a game about a cursed barbarian. He must reclaim his soul before it is too late. What little remains of his humanity will vanish in 10 seconds.

13 levels total

Game runs on JRE, you can download the .jar from the homepage. The OS links are bundled versions made with JWrapper.

To see a full run through go to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0yhnXolGHk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#236Fun(Jam)3.06
#297Graphics(Jam)3.24
#340Theme(Jam)2.97
#340Overall(Jam)3.01
#346Humor(Jam)2.20
#386Mood(Jam)2.65
#414Audio(Jam)2.40
#469Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Very fun game, good graphics, nice sfx, but pretty hard. Good job !

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

Got a virus alert by Avira... unpack200.exe

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Too fast gameplay.

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good concept, but didn't like the audio that much. Fairly hard though, but good job.

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

If I get time for killing enemies, but not for the enemy spawners... I don't want to kill the spawners. Maybe if destroying the spawners gave a good chunk of time I would actually attack them.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Very fun game with good looking graphics, a bit hard though XD

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

My only comment is to use other colors for breakable objects (or a hint like a crack). I'm partially colorblind, and it takes me a while to differentiate your pink and purple.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Oh man, if there wasn't a time limit I'd play the hell out of this (but I know that's the theme). Wish I knew how many levels you made. Hard, but it's got all the right seeds for fun in it.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

Pretty cool. The controls felt pretty good. The corridors didn't offer much space for fighting.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

A bit too hard, but still quite enjoyable nonetheless. It does become a little memorization-y the more you play, though. But you could have picked better sounds.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

quite fun, challenging, but not too much. repetitive, but hey, you made it in 3 days so kudos to you! :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

Very fun game. I like difficult and fast paced gameplay like that. The backstory is very nice too.

Daveydag says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30am

Really cool idea. like the fast pace gameplay. so far best game i've played in the comp.

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

Cool, but really difficult! I think I managed to get to the fifth level before I died. Don't have anything to complain, really solid work. Music would be nice, though, to complete the mood. :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

Ah, it's been a long time since I've played Gauntlet, this is a fun homage! Love the grindhouse aesthetic too. However, the twinstick control scheme on keyboard felt unwieldy.

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

The .dmb doesn't work at all

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

Nice graphics and great idea.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

I really liked this. It took me a while to understand the game but I found it pretty enjoyable once I got going. Enemies spawning ontop of myself was pretty annoying, but I understood why.

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

First of all, it's quite fun to play because the controls are responsive. Nice work on that.
However, the way you designed your "time bar", it really doesn't look time-related, thus your game feels like it missed the theme : why do white balls would give you time back again ?
Using an hourglass and sand, using a setting closer to the prince of persia series would have made it clear.
Apart from that, the audio is pretty repetitive.

Anyway, I think you got part of the deal nailed there, but not everything yet. Keep it up, next time you'll certainly get there.

Cheers,
Nathan

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

good job

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Pretty difficult but enjoyable none the less

gmaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

great idea!

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Cool game. Gameplay was a little too fast - Would have been nice with some more ways to restart the timer.
Also, it gets quite challenging (which is good) but kinda tedious that you have to restart from level one.
Nice graphics, and also nice sounds :)
All in all a pretty good game, and some nice game mechanics!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Super Fun! The jar worked fine on os x

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very old school feeling. Cool entry :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:31pm

haha! so fast paced and crazy!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39am

Art is nice! Cool game!

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:25am

Cool take on the Gauntlet formula!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:08am

Quite challenging but at least it's fun! Played it quite a few times already..good job!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice game, but when time runs out you should restart on the same floor you were on, not back at the begging of the dungeon, otherwise the game is too hard.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15pm

It's hard, but nice art :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Controls are good and responsive, but the door spaces are bit tight imho :-/

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Tough to play, but it is so classic you can't help but love it.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice sounds and good graphics!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice idea and graphics, though I got stuck trying to go from one place to another and I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Quite pretty, the colour pallet work very much in it's favour. Nicely done. The game play feels too fast, it's very difficult unless you already know the level and hard to get into.

That being said, the idea of explore fast, kill faster is a neat one. I'd love to see more work done on this, it feels like I'm on the edge of something brilliant when I play this.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Fun game, based on zelda type of dungeon crawling - keep at it guys!

Muznak says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Quite challenging, I liked the graphics and mood.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

very hard game -- but i liked the graphics and the mechanics -- great job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Hardcore! Realy liked dat game!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

10-seconds Gauntlet! Haha! I did the same thing as you from a completely opposite angle. Good to see more games representing Gauntlet

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Kinda hard, but good and nearly fun to play.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

10 second Gauntlet is good by my books. Warrior is about to die... every 10 seconds. Lots of levels!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Cool! I love games like Gauntlet! Really tough though! Sound effects were pretty funny.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:53am

Neat gauntlet clone. The sounds were...weird. I wish I could restart with a keyboard key. I liked the art/ui graphics.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very nice Gauntlet clone with a twist! But the time is too limited for this kind of game I think.

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Very fun game, i especially enjoyed the difficulty.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:23pm

The graphics pretty good! I like what you did there with the gameplay, but wow, this is hard - and was permadeath really necessary? I switched to just watching the Playthrough video pretty soon.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Made it to the 3 character level. loved the music, graphics were really well done. extra points for innovation cause you used multiple characters. must have been hard for a jam.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:28pm

last comment was a mistake.

good graphics, but I was stuck in the first room. also im one of those people can only play if moving is the arrows and wasd are the shooting

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:36pm

It was fun and nice graphics, but I want more time. XD

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Good stuff, definitely had a nice Gauntlet feel to it. It would have been nice if you restarted a level instead of the entire game after dying or running out of time.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Fun Gauntlet-like game. The audio is a bit grating though, and making out the purple tiles among the blue ones is a bit difficult.

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:03am

Definitely like Gauntlet with a few changes. Ideally, the 10 second timer. The timer adds more difficulty to the game, but it's not too bad.

Jhelle says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

Lovely gauntlet like game. Good job :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Fun little game!

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice graphics, but very frantic gameplay. Feels like the game is running at twice the speed it should.

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Great gauntlet-like :) I like the fast-paced gameplay

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Game is quite fun with good graphics. It's very hard as well!
I'd like monster dying animations! :)

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:47am

On Arch Linux 64 bit I'm getting an "Error: Could not find or load main class SoulReaver-1.0.jar" for the jar.

For the binary it gets stuck at "[OS] Detected Linux (linux, 3.10.3-1-arch)"

:'(

What did you make/build this with?

infernet89 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:57pm

It took me a little to figure out that some block are actually breakable, and limiting the gameplay to ten second make this game too hard for me :(

Mekuri says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:57am

The graphics reminded me a bit of the good ol' C64 game Gauntlet. The game was a bit hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]