August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Subject 127

by Dohan - Jam Entry

"In the year 2094, Mr. Evilthorne took over the world. In order to make all the people meek and obedient, he installed a bomb inside the body of everyone. A bomb that will make the poor enemy of Mr. Evilthorne explode in 10 seconds once activated. So everybody obeyed.

Until now..."

You are Subject 127, a brave girl born under Mr. Evilthorne regimen. Sickened by the atrocities that the world leader is carrying out, you have decided to take a stand against him. But, as everyone else nowadays, you carry the 10 seconds bomb inside your body. Will you succes in in your struggle against Mr. Evilthorne?

____________________


CONTROLS:

- Left/Right: Run.
- Up: Back against a wall.
- Down: Crouch.
- Space: Jump.

____________________


CREDITS:

Design: Ivan Lopez
Programming: Ivan Lopez
Level Art: Ivan Lopez
Intro and Ending art: Raquel Barros
Additional level design: Marcos Vendrell

____________________


Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#190Theme(Jam)3.33
#293Graphics(Jam)3.27
#300Fun(Jam)2.92
#303Humor(Jam)2.37
#377Overall(Jam)2.92
#428Mood(Jam)2.51
#461Innovation(Jam)2.52
#505Audio(Jam)1.47

Comments

Roffe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

Fun game, good pace! Hard to see were the player is going to land after jumping though

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

I love that you had the time to get the story stuff in, I think it adds a lot. I had a lot of fun with the back against the wall mechanic. I think the friction is maybe a little too low, it feels like you're running on ice. The game/story combo sort of reminds me of how gunpoint is structured, I think you could expand this into a really great full game. Good work

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

First of all, what I liked: The art is clean and the introduction sequence sets the mood very well (even if the writing isn't exactly riveting - it does its job.)

Now, my gripes:
There were some big issues with collision detection - getting stuck on walls and ceilings during jumps and going THROUGH the walls and floors at times... definitely very frustrating in a game like this. The level 2 design (camera after camera after camera) could have been a lot better designed - putting the same obstacle in that many times in a row just kills all novelty of the stealth mechanic, which at first I was really excited about.

The timer mechanic had a similar pitfall - in the first level, it works well enough (though it is a little unforgiving, requiring a high level of platforming skill in the first level is bad enough, but coupled with the bugginess of the collision, it's seriously flawed here.) In the third level, getting hit with the timer-activating laser effectively means that you cannot finish the level in time, but since it doesn't kill you, the only sensible option is to jump into a pit to restart. This approach is not a fun one - instead, this particular obstacle should either mean instant death or it should be an unavoidable part of the level design which doesn't prevent the player from finishing.

The actual game camera should not follow the vertical movement of the player so closely, as it makes landing on a platform at the same height as the last one much more frustrating than it should be - level 3 was where I gave up due to this problem in addition to falling through the floor one too many times.

There seems to be some inconsistency in the writing as well - the villain says he will blow you up at the end of the 10 second countdown, so why does it say some about releasing gas the first time you encounter the laser that starts the timer? That was a little fourth-wall breaking...

The lack of audio really hurts the atmosphere, too. As I mentioned, I couldn't bring myself to get past level 3, but from what I saw the level design could definitely use some improvement. I just noticed in your screenshot that you can duck, as well, although I don't believe that was ever explained in the game - I simply jumped past that particular obstacle.

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Cool idea and nice illustrations.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:11pm

u hade a story in that is impressive caus I couldn't

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I really enjoyed playing this, and the graphics were very well done, but the collisions were a very buggy and it made me frustrated trying to keep playing when I was getting hit by lasers that weren't hitting me or getting stuck in walls. If this game was polished a bit, I think it could be great :)

mortus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Hey, my game takes place in 2093! :D

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Thank you for your feedback. Once the LD is over so I can stop playing all these games, I have to look deeper into that collision issue as it's a real problem in this kind of game.

@mortus: The 2090's decade is going to be interesting XD

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Lovely platformer! The press-against-the-wall-mechanic is great, I haven't that on a 2d-game before :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Nice graphics! Good job. :)

stenol says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Fine game. Hard to see where landing when we jump.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Really liked the idea of the timed stealth platformer. Sticking to walls to avoid cameras is pretty stressful when your trying not to explode. Had a little trouble with the wall jumping controls.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Very good job on character sprites and animation!
The controls are pretty fluid and the walljump is good, too!

Sometimes it's a little hard to see where you are landing, though.

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I got through a lot of the levels. Most of the time the platforming was alright - especially wall jumping from wall to wall. But the jumping is too hard to precisely control and the level design needs a bit more love I think. Doing the same task a lot of times in each level is tedious.

Overall not a bad game and the animations on the player character are good. It's in desperate need of sound though.

Ninquo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great game, great graphics/art and great fun, this is definitely in my personal top 3 ;)
The only thing that bothered me was the difficulty. I cleared all the levels with the first or second try, but the last level and the level two before that took me about 10 minutes or more. A little bit more balance would've been nice :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I liked the graphics though the story is kind of... well unrealistic... I mean the way the characters talked was a bit overdramatic and... that's a nitpick haha sorry. The gameplay was alright until the camera was too close to see where I was supposed to jump to. And some audio would've been nice. But otherwise good job!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:52am

There was a lot of collision problems. I fell through the floor and wall. It was pretty frustrating to deal with those but otherwise it was a decent 10 second platformer game.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55am

The game mechanics are very fun, but the level design didn't work for me. Placing camera after camera in the 2nd level made clearing it a chore. The mechanic in itself is pretty cool, but the way it was repeated over and over again made it boring. Plus I couldn't predict where I would land after a jump. Plus jumping up steps had some weird collision that kept slowing me down when its not supposed to.
On the story, if I were Mr. Evilthorne, I'd just have killed her on the spot. :P
I'm sure you can take these into account and carry over the good work into the next game you develop. :)

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice graphics and humor. The controls felt solid and the gameplay wasn't bad. I felt through the floor a couple of times, though.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:14am

I like the game but it needs some kind of audio I guess. Good job!

tompudding says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice job. I disagree about the level design on the second level, after a couple of cameras I just legged it for the exit and just made it, so it worked for me at least :)

The level design on the other levels could use some polish though I admit. In a game like this with potentially frustrating mechanics (those saws on the floor and the ceiling, AARRGH :) you really need all the other aspects to be very polished to avoid frustration.

Very impressive overall, though get a sound person for next time !

Darien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26am

At first, this game seems like it'll be a Blackthorne update, but then later it turns into Super Meat Boy. Only trouble is the controls aren't all there; the fiddly jumping later in the game gets *really* frustrating. Also would be nice if you'd alias "retry" to space, since my hands are nowhere near the R key.

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:27am

@tompudding I was expecting someone to point that way to solve level 2, instead of spoiling it myself :D (and there's one more way to solve that level).

nilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Web version does not seem to start, nothing happends except some start up screen. =(

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:07pm

@Nilo, even after pressing the spacebar to pass screens?

nilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:09pm

hmm, finally figured by mistake before closing the window that it changed text when pressing space =)
Cool platform game!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Pretty fun, but I had a couple of issues. Firstly I found that the camera should have been zoomed out a bit so that you can see where you are going. Second was that the jump felt extremely touchy, which was very difficult in some of the levels. Liked that you included an intro and liked the security element to it. All in all not a bad entry!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:08am

good job

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I almost punched by monitor at the last level. Jesus Christ that was hard. I-I did it though. I finished it.

Now, this was cool. And very long for a LD entry i thought. The stealth mechanic was cool. The lasers worked well.

Jumping had flaws. People mentioned the issues already, but the most frustrating one i thought was the "small jump" versus "big jump" timing. To do a small jump you have to press the button for such a short time, you often do a big jump even if you just tapped Space for as short as you could. The sensitivity of that jump height mechanic was not good and made the saw obstacles where you had to jump inbetween two of them very hard.

Apart from that it was really good. The intro and end scene was lovely drawn. Good job overall.

Jason says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I thought that was a great take on the 10 second theme. Alot of games, (mine included) use 10 sec as constant timer that feels too short. Giving the player ways to avoid triggering that timer is smart.

Like a few people mentioned, the controls feel a bit off. Jumping, a bit too floaty. But nice job otherwise!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]