August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inversion

by mutuware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the world of Inversion.
Every 10 seconds things get turned on their head.

Collect the gold!
Cursor Keys.
R to restart level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#17Innovation4.13
#246Overall3.40
#331Fun3.21
#420Theme3.31
#458Mood2.85
#563Audio2.54
#837Humor1.77
#908Graphics2.29

Comments

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Very unique, I like the graphics style and peaceful "mood" of the game, and it's pretty funny how badly I was at the beginning :P

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Really fun, i had good time playing your game. liked the inversion timing idea. Sometimes i don't understand why the game is inversing though. Really like the puzzle side! Good job!

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21am

Nice innovative idea :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very smooth and fluid, almost atmospheric. A neat idea aswell

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This is brilliant, good job dev :D

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I really like the innovation for this game! It was a little buggy for me, not sure if it was part of the gameplay. Sometimes switching to blue doesn't happen and I get no controls, or it just switches randomly. I end up needing to restart.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I loved the game-play of this game. It felt really good and was very interesting. The graphics where also nice and well polished. I especially appreciated the smooth animation.

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Got stuck later on but the idea seems to be rather interesting :)

Blecta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I like the concept, but after a few minutes my head was upside down x)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very decent idea! Yet I think it might've been better if the camera wasn't rotating and if everything was B&W ;)

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I think you did a good job of using the theme as a core mechanic. The balancing between the two worlds is super fun.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I love this, very innovative take on platformers. Provides for some humorous yet mind boggling game play :-) Great stuff!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Nice job, had some tough parts too.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Awesome, took a few min before I got a hang of controlling them both and coordinating but it was really fun, well done!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15am

It took me a while to really wrap my head around the strategy of gameplay. Once I got the hang of it, I definitely enjoyed it. I do wish it was more clear when the board was going to rotate... I didn't see any indicator so it seemed to move at random.

Overall, nice job.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Very nice and original game! Very addictive, fluid gameplay. Some levels were a bit challenging. Really liked the co-op feel and clever level designs.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Really cool concept. A very challenging puzzle game that requires some lateral thinking. Or should I say longitudinal thinking?

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:21am

Cool concept! Kind of dizzy now :P

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice idea, really enjoyed it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It was quite hard, but overall I love the idea. It felt very slick, and it was one of those games where after a while you get it and go "woah cool!"

Yann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Nice idea, I feel like you should however lock the game during the rotation because you don't really have time and the proper visual feedback (when your character is sinking while still being upside down) to react properly... I sometimes jumped left instead of right....
I like how the two characters can help each other out though (:
And yeah like some said, sometimes the change seem to happen randomly

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

Yes - very fantastic game. Felt like the level design was a bit off at the beginning - I didn't feel like the difficulty ramped up nicely... buuut, damn - it's addictive and clever. Well done!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

you have a great game and level design here. graphics and mechanics are minimalistic, but they are exactly what was needed for such genre, I liked the outcome, very original!

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Great concept! I really liked how with the red block you couldn't just quickly run to the goal - you had to strategically move to give the blue block some help. I often found that the world would flip on 6 seconds on the red block's timer, which was quite annoying and I couldn't get very far because of it

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I really like the idea of the inversion and slidable blocks! It just doesn't fit in with the 10 second theme very well. The game has great potential to be awesome if you expanded it outside the LD compo rules!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]