August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

untitled no.10 (seconds)

by Cosr - Jam Entry

(for the linux build you'll probably have to set up SFML 2.1 and its dependencies on your own; I don't know shit about releasing linux builds)

duel at 10 seconds.

wait, then stab your opponent. striking early will result in disqualification.

----------------------------------------------------

This was made in the final 4.5 hours of the jam.

Not the game I intended to make, but I didn't feel like what I as working on was going very well. I like my original concept, but decided to put it aside and hopefully come back to it when I have the time to make it properly. I made this instead.

Mostly complete, just missing some sound effects and blood. Will add sometime post jam.

Hopefully shouldn't need too much explanation. It's crazy simple.

Works with both keyboard and gamepads (forgot to mention this in the readme).

EDIT (Sept 6):
-got around to throwing up a quick post jam version with some bfxr sounds (which I'm not sure I like) and blood particle things
-updated original jam version readmes to mention gamepad support
EDIT (Sept 14):
-one last little edit to the post jam version, added an announcer voice and some noise

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Theme(Jam)3.44
#228Fun(Jam)3.07
#280Humor(Jam)2.44
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#405Overall(Jam)2.85
#456Graphics(Jam)2.68
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

Really simple game. I love the way the timer fades out and both players have to guess when they can strike. Interesting gameplay mechanic.

noffle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04am

A fun premise that goes well with the theme. Simple controls, cute art, and rounded off with a good amount of polish. Awesome.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:21am

Nice mini game, like the simplist graphic and the good use of the theme. Good work !

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

Couldn't unzip the windows file for some reason :(

Cosr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21pm

@Lianne Booton :(
Weird, I don't know why that would be. What archive unzipping program thingy are you using (was packaged with 7-zip)?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Not bad for a last minute entry.

truiton says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:28am

Simple, but fun :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Not bad! Interesting concept. I would have liked to know the timer amount after the strike.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:19am

Chrome warned from downloading the file, I unzipped it anyway, then Avast told me to open it on a sandbox and Chrome crashed in the background. Also the game crashed after I chose inputs. =(

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:52am

Very simple, yet interesting! I would like to see what the timer is at after someone struck.

Cosr says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:54am

@ghRibacki o_O
(which version was this?)

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:10am

Bravo! Sweet and simple. I love it!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Quite a lot of duel games in this jam. But something fresh and new with the stick figures.

Wertle says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:23am

This reminded me of the Kirby Samurai mini-game from Kirby Super Star. I love the dynamic that's created when playing with another person in the same space and the anxiety it creates (good anxiety, not bad anxiety!). Nice work :)

Erhune says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Simple but fun. Not having the counter after 3 is a quite clever idea that fits well with the theme. I wish there was a CPU opponent though, because my right hand is always winning against my left hand! :p

Jayjay says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:54am

Fun! I think it'd work just as well as an online game as well =D

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:56am

Can I get a mac version?

Cosr says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:24am

@jomomomo: Could maybe get a Mac version going when I can get someone to build it for me, but certainly won't be before the end of judging.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

This is brilliant!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

This is a fun game, gives me flashbacks to fun joystick-breaking times with Daley Thompson's Decathlon on the c64. It would've been cool to have a "false start" mechanic for hitting the keys before the starter pistol fires, but otherwise it's all good :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]