August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second onsalught

by wilbefast - Jam Entry

Bug fixes
===========
27/08/2013
- units couldn't be placed in a 200x200 pixel area to the bottom-right of other units (Fixed).

About
===========

The year is 4241...

20 years ago an alien attack wiped out all life on our home planet in UNDER 10 SECONDS. Now at last we have invented a machine to take us back to this most fateful moment.

At last comrades, it is time to change the past: send your SOLDIERS and ORDINANCE back in time to DEFEND THE MOTHERPLANET!


How to play
===========

Use the timeline at the bottom of the screen to choose when each unit will appear on the battlefield. Use your units to defend monuments for the "hairy menace".

Protecting monuments in the past makes the future populace inspired and therefore productive: this means before resources for the war effort!

Credits
===========

Programming by William Dyce and Antoine Seilles.
Art by Thomas Renault.
Sound by William Dyce.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Graphics(Jam)3.30
#285Humor(Jam)2.42
#361Audio(Jam)2.59
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#373Theme(Jam)2.91
#385Overall(Jam)2.91
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#524Fun(Jam)2.27
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49am

Very nice graphics. I liked the audio too ^^ But the game seems insanely hard to me... Also most of the time I wasn't able to click to place units in many places. Bug? Feature? I would've liked more explanations ingame too, and something to show me the range of the units. Couldn't beat the first level. Nice execution anyway!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

couldn't work out why my golden army wouldn't take orders; took me a while to realise they were the statues :) Once I got the hang of the game, it was a lot of fun, even though I wasn't very good at it. Hmm, time-span RTS is giving me ideas for the next LD already ... :)

wilbefast says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Fixed "can't placed units near other units" bug :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

The monsters are really creepy! And those eyebrows ^^
The games works fine (hard though) but it's not very instinctive at first, since we don't see how much soldiers we buy for each statue. Hopefully, the war animations are fun enough in counterpart ^^

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Was a little confused on what to do on this one.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Really was an onslaughter! I liked the game very much! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Laelien says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:28am

Nice entry guys ! Except I don't really see the point of placing your soldiers after 0 seconds. Isn't it less useful ? Except for the mines, maybe, but the soldiers...
Great anyway !

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:30am

Graphics were pretty, but I didn't really understands the gameplay. I never knew how many enemies would appear from where, or how much damage they do in comparison to my guys. I'm sure if you put in a tutorial or something to improve your game's conveyance, people will enjoy this more.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:59am

@Pickens: Is a tutorial the sort of thing you're "allowed" to add during the voting period? I thought it was just bug fixes.

@Jupiter: cool \o/ mind if I link to your video at the top of the page?

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:06am

@Laelien: clearing the area with bombs just before you guys teleport in can be useful... and it looks really cool ;)

We're planning on having more varied monsters in the post-compo version, so you'll need to be a bit more strategic with your placements (for instance: monsters with mortar attacks will encourage you to appear behind enemy lines).

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:50am

Good effort on graphics!
This is awesome. You should keep working on it, adding more units and maybe other buildings. :)

Larzan says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Good idea, good grafix, insanely hard...

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:21am

I like the enemy behaviors and the movement seems good. The game is way hard though!! A quick tutorial level would help

kibertoad says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:01pm

clever and good looking.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Feels rewardingly complex for a 48H game.

truiton says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice graphics, cool gameplay, maybe a little too hard ^^

Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:45am

I found the mechanics very cool! And I always had a liking for plan and watch games!
On the second level at the end of the 10 seconds though, I have one statue left but it just restarts the level with 4000 cash. I'm not sure if I lost or won? I cant seem to get to the next level.
Anyway this could be very cool if there can be be a variety of objectives!

Npui says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:39pm

In fact You must keep all you statues "alive" to win (there's a special screen when it appends). After each try, you win or lose money depending to the number of statue you saved in previous rush. My best score is 3 try to win this unique level... I'm agread it would be greatfull we add a tutorial to explan this and the full GUI is not implemented yet (try count, price of units are missing). Thanx to you all for your coments. Thomas.

Erhune says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The game is a bit difficult to understand in the beginning, but after that it's interesting to have to "plan" your defense.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:40am

nice bullet hell game I enjoyed it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]