August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hall of Flame

by ModestArcade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

8/26/2013 - Added OS X, Linux, and HTML5 versions of the game. If the web game's running slow for you, use Chrome or grab one of the downloadables. Thanks!

Hey, y'all!

This game was made in about 15 hours (rough estimate) using:

- Game Maker Studio
- Paint Shop Pro X
- sfxr
- iNudge

I was actually running a convention table at GlitchCon 2013 while making this! During the day, I was doing the normal convention table stuff, but after 7PM, I was programming this game, and I had a big honkin' monitor facing outward so that anyone who wanted to see what I was doing could look at my screen. It was a really fun experience. Through my journey, I also made a simple animation system from scratch in order to handle the frames I sprited in my WIPs.

The game controls with the arrow keys and is very short! There were supposed to be bombs that fall from the ceiling, eventually, but that got shelved due to time.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#85Graphics3.93
#141Fun3.51
#165Overall3.53
#183Mood3.31
#193Theme3.58
#286Audio3.00
#412Innovation3.16
#434Humor2.46

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I really liked it! The combination of floor puzzle and time limit made for an intense puzzle solving experience. the last level was extremely difficult, making it all the more satisfying to complete. My on;y criticism is that it is too short, but forgivably so due to the time constraints.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:44pm

*only

DrHahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49am

I really like the art, but I wish there was more puzzles though :)

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Not that innovative but with the 10 seconds limit its awesome!

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Too short, but nice idea :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I really enjoyed it, it's a pity you could not make more levels.

At first I thought I had to reach the upper door, too, what is it for?

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

The upper door opens automatically when all the tiles are lit and teleports you to the next level if you're within a certain radius. You don't need to be at the door when lighting the last tile or anything like that.

Since there's no need to reach the door in level 4 (because there's no level 5), its presence is sort of vestigial - it WOULD have been useful if there were more levels.

Thanks for your comments!

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Too bad it hasn't more levels. I liked it a lot, and the graphics look nice :)

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I wish there were more levels :).

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Great art. Mechanics are pretty solid too and worked well.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Those graphics are awesome, I saw the screenshoot and I know that I wanna play it!

simple says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I liked the graphics and is a good little addictive puzzle game. More levels would have been good :)

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I really liked it. Very simple idea and really works well with the 10 seconds limit. More levels are needed though!

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Awww, way too short! I loved what was there though, Good job!

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Really well made and polished game.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26pm

GREAT. lot of fun , and original concept. weldone!

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Really fun little floor puzzle game. Like others've said, it would've been great if it were longer (with perhaps other new mechanics introduced along the way, too). Great work!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Interesting game! The sound effects fit very well and the graphics were superb.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I really like the art of the game and good gameplay.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nicely done! I enjoyed this puzzler :0)

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice idea, though it got too tough for me pretty quickly (the %#&$! level that circled around the center). Well done, overall.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Great game (but like others said, way too short)!!

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Great use of the theme, nice puzzles!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Awesome graphics and truly addictive. Brilliant work, I love it!

leafo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Cool game, cool graphics, too short!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I like the mechanics and the art. Didn't manage to beat level 4 though.

DiasRaven says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:19am

I thought it was neat, I did enjoy it. BTW this is the guy that was bugging you at the convention sitting in the table next to you. You have my vote!

DiasRaven says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:20am

That is until I realized it was for participants only. Either way I still enjoyed your little game. If you ever release more puzzles then let me know.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:21am

Great little game - insanely hard with that time limit though.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Loved the graphics, the last level was a bit confusing and made me realise that you can basically clear any level by shifting back and forth between tiles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]