August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space TimeX10

by Sh1rogane - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my game.
You got 10 seconds to defeat the enemy. Will you make it on time?

Controlls:
Arrow keys - Movement
Space - Shoot/Skip
M - Mute music

Notes:
Probably very unbalanced and have mercy on the graphics :P And some things are missing like some sound and such ^^;
And yes i have some misspelled words :P

Tools used:
Language: AS 3.0
IDE - Flash Builder
Library - FlashPunk
Graphics - Paint.Net/Photoshop
Music - cgMusic
Sound Effects - BFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#175Fun3.45
#225Audio3.14
#323Mood3.05
#409Overall3.20
#488Theme3.25
#531Humor2.26
#702Innovation2.77
#781Graphics2.53

Comments

Deity says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Won in 12 iterations. Gg

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Won in 10 iterations. I really liked the warp-back-time effect ;)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00am

Fun game, iteration upgrade systems are always a blast. It could have been padded out a bit more.

The music was a bit harsh at first, but I got used to it.

I found myself accidentally skipping through the message the first few times I played, but I enjoyed the active reversal of time (and being able to skip it if I so chose.)

11 iterations

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

Good to see more shmups in Ludum Dare. At first, I was a little annoyed by the "we have just developed a time machine" message always being the same - but then I realised it's always the same point in time, so of course it'd be the same message. Good game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

That was super fun! And Great music :)

God Job!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

I really like the time machine effect, really neat! Controls are a bit tight, but I got used to them pretty quickly. Also, for some reason this game made me think about Frog Fractions. Anyway, good job!

Manoloko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

Fun game, one of those that you can't put down until you finish it.
It took me 14 iterations, I found quite hard to avoid beig hit.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

Very fun nice idea, doesnt seam to polished.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

15 iterations, nice game. I like the upgrade aspect to it (mine is upgradable too :P)

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Won in 12 iterations, and I have to say that it's pretty addictive and a great concept.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Great job !

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

I really liked this. My only nitpicks: I wish I could buy stuff with keyboard shortcuts so I didn't need to alternate to the mouse. And I wish I could skip/speed up the intro.

I like shooters so I loved the upgrades. The reverse time replay was also really cool (you could use this to make a jerk of a boss who rewound time). Music was nice and fitting.

8 iterations on my first go.

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Fun game! Liked the music, and time rewinding animation is pretty cool. :)
Also a neat interpretation of concept. Good job :)

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Really nice game, the time reverse effect looked nice! One thing that annoyed me was the repeating intro sequence, I wish you could skip them.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Really fun! I like all the "uppgrades" :D

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

By far this is the best bgm I've heard. Great rewind effect!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Great idea! It was fun to play.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Neat idea! I enjoyed it, won in 10 iterations.

I would have loved to see something where each time you respawn, your previous tries also respawn alongside you and shoot. That would dictate a lot of design overhaul to make it different and balanced from what you did, but if I had come up with this idea that's probably where my brain would have gone :)

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Nice game! It took me 13 iterations.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Won in 11 iterations. Good job :)

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Finished that Game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice and simple. After a bit of farming was very easy to beat him.
Good music and sound.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice one. I saw similar thing of upgrading after you die in a few other games. Works really well.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

i loved the art! awesome game!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very interesting shooter! It's very fun, I'm just not sure how well it fits with the theme.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Won in 10 iterations. Not bad! The ship could have bit smaller collision area though, felt like the bullets hit me way too easily.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Game was fun, nice use of the theme, it took me 9 iterations XD

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

good job. similar to the game of the Martians

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I love the audio but the game is a bit unbalanced, as you have stated.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Gaining money, even through time skips was thematically jarring, but this was super fun to play!
Beat it in 7 Iterations, with 2 deaths. It's easier to avoid getting hit if you ignore where you're firing, and focus on your space craft!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Awesome game! Won in 10 iterations, as I failed a lot the first tries. I really enjoy the music, it's really nice! (I still have the tab open because I like the music ;D )
I felt it was a bit slow during the transitions. I am not fond of long, boring transitions with 5 second fadeout/fadeins. But all in all, this is a nice game and reminds me of when I played Pegasus (a scrolling shooter). :)

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Loving the time-warp effect, that and the upgrades are the best bits of the game. Movement felt a little weird and Watching the boss constantly crawl up and down the screen during the start, slowed down the otherwise pacey game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Pretty fun shmup. Loved the time warp effect. Gets really trippy after a good shooting. Perfect balance between the difficulty and the cost of upgrades. Great job!

syawqy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12am

i love the turn back in time effect
and i won in 9 iteration

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Thanks for all the comments :D
@ellipticaldoor damn i knew i had at least ONE misspelled word(i probably have more) :P
And for the opening transision, i forgot to add skip function for it, sorry ^^;

Khopa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Wow, very good game.
One of my favorites so far :)

wintermute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30pm

The game is simple but good, nice shooting and upgrades, feels very ok!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

8 iterations. Was pretty fun!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

ohhhh particles

justi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Cool, addicting game ! 12 iterations in first time. In plus: upgrades and sound. Good work !

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:21am

I loved the timewarp feature!

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:58pm

8 iterations is my best.
The time-rewinding effect is cool, and the game in itself gives a good vibe. I really wished it was longer when I finally defeated the ennemy for the first time.
Anyway, this is a good game. Congratulations on your work!

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Why can't people make simple, fun games like this more often? Loved it. I'm sure people are saying the music didn't fit, but I think it's a FANTASTIC match!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Was pretty cool, the time reversing effect was cool I admit but slightly unnecessary. The upgrade system was fun though so good job on that.

motty says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great little game. Nice one.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:35am

One of my favorite game thus far. Great job! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

urth says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Better than my entry :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Not a big fan on the "Die a couple of times until you get strong enough to kill the enemy" mechanics ;x but that's just my personal taste. The game is nice and well done, won in 10 iterations.

Made a video while playing talking about what I was thinking
http://www.twitch.tv/danielsnd/c/2882730

I hit upload to youtube but apparently takes a long time for twitch to transfer it to youtube... So if you're reading this in the future and twitch has deleted the video, you can check:
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqqAeLLp33Ki1dRAPCiTEtg/videos

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:23pm

In the beginning I had no clue what was going on. Managed to win in 12 iterations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]