August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MEGA FRIENDSHIP BATTLE ELEVATOR

by Thomas Ingham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play "The Kid" on a mission to disrupt the evil empire of lawn gnomes taking over the city. Head to their skyscraper and deal some damage riding wave after wave of BATTLE ELEVATOR!

AWSD to Move
Spacebar to Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#495Audio2.67
#521Graphics2.94
#971Theme2.63
#1004Innovation2.27
#1088Overall2.38
#1187Fun1.56
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

drmanitoba says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Sad, I can't get it to work. Controls don't seem to be doing anything...either that or this game is seriously esoteric.

Thomas Ingham says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07am

You don't have player control until you see the word "BATTLE" and hear the bell.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

took some time to load, probably due to the graphics? pretty impressive for such a short time! pretty violent game btw ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:33pm

The title is brilliant :)

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Not going to rate it since I couldn't do anything in the game, not even move once the bell rang. Resetting the game seriously has to replay the whole title sequence?

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

game is ok, but srsly guys, scenes between actual gameplay is tooooooo long.

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I could get it to work (I think) but it was a fairly odd experience. The game took ages to load and then between each wave it also took ages before anything happened, during this time the camera seemed to bob around and alternately look at the wall and then the player for no apparent reason.

Once the level finally started I couldn't understand what the AI was trying to do, except that they seemed to really like walls and firing ornages up into space.

Its pretty impressive that you made a working 3d arena and the camera work with it gliding into the top down perspective was pretty cool, its just a shame that the game seems so stop-start with no real gameplay in between.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

MEGA BATTLE CONFUSION ELEVATOR!

AMAZING DRAMATIC CUTSCENES

BRILLIANTLY ANIMATED GNOMES

EXTREMELY IMPRESSIVE FOR SUCH A SHORT TIME

Actually really great job. Balanced, fun gameplay, admirable graphics, hilarious. Thanks for the laugh.

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:59am

I love those roaring voice in mainmenu, ha haa, and the title name shouting out as well, really hilarious :)

Btw, I have to wait for "Battle" text first then controls kick in, at first I might give up.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Not sure what's going on with the camera between the kicking ass moment, but punching on everything is always good :D

larb says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Same experience here. The loading/transition screens are really long. I want to play, it looks fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]