August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Entropy

by ||||||||||||| - Jam Entry

Entropy is a game where you character loses the warmth and light around her over a period of ten seconds. Without light you will die of cold and be unable to traverse the ruins you were trapped in. Luckily the torches of past explorers guide your way and can refresh your light or you can light unlit torches to mark your path.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Movement
Up Arrow - Jump
Enter - Screen Prompts
Space - Set a Light Bomb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#4Mood(Jam)4.34
#14Audio(Jam)4.03
#100Overall(Jam)3.54
#154Graphics(Jam)3.76
#224Fun(Jam)3.08
#226Theme(Jam)3.24
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05
#415Humor(Jam)1.91

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

So tried to play the game, and I get to the second light and the character won't move. I tried jumping and all possible commands. :) Good luck!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Keep Moving right, you haven't unlocked the ability to go left yet.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really like the atmosphere on this one. Nice soundtrack work too. I was a bit unsure about the fairly restrictive way your moves "unlock", but it didn't take long to get used to it. Nicely done!

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Soundtrack was moving, quite lovely. I enjoyed the graphics, my kind of simple. Awesome concept with the light and the way you unlocked the characters abilities.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Looks pretty, to bad I cant play it as I am on Linux...

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

I like the short 'tutorial' bit, and the general atmosphere! Was pretty enjoyable too. But when I fell down a hole, I just kept falling... the game didn't end, I didn't respawn.. so I had to close the game and open it again... and go through the tutorial... Otherwise good though ;)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Didn't have sound!
Liked the graphical style but couldn't play for long

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

I love how you show basic controls step by step. Great graphic style btw!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

I like the way you tease the different abilities before they're unlocked. There seems to be a bug with the boot though. If you die before the next checkpoint, the boot is gone, and the jump height returns to its default. The clock upgrade has a similar bug if you die. (I died a lot.) There's also a bug if you hit return again after unlocking other movement.

On a more positive note, there's a really great sense of atmosphere here.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27am

Nice soundtrack, responsive controls. I made it until I got the boot for better jump and then I died. The boot didnt respawned and I couldnt jump as high as I needed. Is it a bug?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02am

The glitch with the boot has been fixed. As well as the pitfalls.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

Really liked the mood of this one, and the graphics were pretty original which is always nice to see

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26am

I played it all the way through, and this might sound weird, but my favorite part was the blood spatter effect :)

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40am

Loved this game. The music and ambient sounds are wonderful, and the graphics give the game a very nice atmosphere. The game is challenging, but starts out easy enough, and the controls are crisp :-)

I would like to see some sound effects associated with actions (jumping, bombing, getting hurt, etc), but other than that that was a great game!

Here is the video of me playing it: http://youtu.be/KFwniwqJsLM

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

This was great, it must win the top place for mood.

drilltail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This game has a great atmosphere to it. The visuals and audio both fit very well. I feel that the complete lack of sound effects (aside from the music and ambience) is actually quite appropriate, whether you intended that or not.

I like that you put a bit of thought into placing the falling spikes -- a lot of them were in really mean places. I always appreciate that sort of thing.

A bug you might want to fix: after you die at least once, you can press Enter again, which forces you to automatically walk right (like at the start). I was fortunate enough to fall into spikes and die when this happened (I'm not even sure why I pressed it again, to be honest), but it looks like you could actually get trapped if you walk into a wall.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

beautiful. especially like the music and atmosphere; the fading light and falling snow are very well made and match perfectly with each other. fitting title too.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Great audio, good application of the lighting effects. Great game for 1 weekend.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

This is very poetic

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

great game, 5 stars!

Madoka was the first thing came to my mind when i read the title. (if you know what it is :P)

and your name sound like a certain loli vampire. :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:16am

very artsy and beautiful. top marks for mood as well

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Very impressed with the atmosphere, the mood. Death scene. Nice and simple work

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice idea and good art!

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

This is great! The mood is very gloomy, it fits the theme. I like the way the controls and mechanics are introduced gradually.

autlos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Good game. Everithing is simple but fits together, the rain, the background color, the lights, the background music...

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Nice job, loved the mood and the aesthetic. However, I was unable to move left after falling down the shaft in section 4 after dying a couple of times.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

There is a border between taking influence from one work and plagarism, I'm sorry if I'm being a bit unfair but I'd say this game is very close to that line as it plagarises a bit And Then There Were None by SaintHeiser.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Your opinion is a perfectly valid one to have and the line is a blurry one. However, while I was inspired in part by that game and I did attempt to mimic some features of it, like the intro and the layered text, my game is entirely my own except for the music which was done by a friend and the death system which I downloaded years ago. This is why I submitted this as a Jam Game since they are allowed to use these outside assets. If anything this game was more inspired by Metroid Prime 2(The mood, the power bomb, and the inspiration of the Dark World), Celestial Mechanica, An Untitled Story, and Spelunky.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]