August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ridiculous Chess

by Toadpud - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made my entry in about 12 hours of work using LibGDX and Gimp. It's Chess, but with 10 second turns. Must be played with another person, because there isn't any AI. Intended to be played on an Android.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#363Humor2.62
#717Fun2.73
#786Theme2.91
#930Audio1.47
#947Graphics2.21
#953Mood2.15
#1003Overall2.55
#1134Innovation1.94

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

The white king is victorious while showing a black king made me laugh a lot lol I feel like I lost... at least I was playing against myself so I kinda win anyway :)

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nicely done, I just wish I had someone to play against!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

It's really a shame there's no AI, that ending made it all worth it though :p

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Funny graphics and nice take on the theme

Toadpud says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I'm uploading the first update. I inverted the colors on the victory screen (no idea what I was thinking). Also, it's now impossible to castle out of check. Luckily my chess-playing friend pointed this out to me when I showed him the game.

Tlyn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

Funtimes! I love playing chess against myself.

vandriver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

This is actually pretty playable with two on my nexus 7. Not original by any means, but I could totally see busting this out waiting somewhere with friends. Thanks!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Playing chess against yourself is surprisingly tricky... From the name, though, I was expecting the chess to be a bit more ridiculous. Ah well! :)

Sheep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It's not very innovative, but I guess it could turn out in a lot of fun when playing seriously.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Not bad. I feel as thought the theme could have been implemented in more creative ways.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Heheh that was pretty nice! The shabby looking pieces are rather cute :]

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Remind me of the Real time chess game , disturbing to play on a desktop and to see all these chess pieces reversed :)

junkmail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

OH MY GOD YOUR GAME IS SO BAD -1/10 UNINSTALL WINDOWS

In all seriousness, pretty good job. See if you can take more than 12 hours next time, and get a larger game done.

Toadpud says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

@vandriver Awesome! I'm really glad someone tried it out on an Android. Honestly, that's how it was meant to be played.

@junkmail I read your post before seeing who you were... Good one. :P Next time I'll definitely do something original.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:05am

It's a solid chess game, it's really responsive and has a good UI, but it's not really as "Ridiculous" as the name implies :P Maybe you could mix it up with some sort of gimmick or clever mechanic?

anmorales says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:28am

This game looks cool, 12 hours to make this, wish you had more time to make it larger, add more rules to chess ;)

bushmango says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Yeay, I won against myself!

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

That's how I try to play chess sometimes. ^^
You have no time to think so you must think fast.

It could be cool if you managed to make a chess AI (I know, it's not easy, MinMax might work as an algorithm).

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:12pm

The best is the horse :D

Toadpud says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I tried drawing a better horse like three times... just couldn't do it. :P

nikkesen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Adorable. Nice to see something other than a platformer. I like the timer for each turn.

onzephyr says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:31pm

good game especially for 12 hrs nicely done.

foumart says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

The idea about Chess in 10 seconds per move is great. A super lame AI will be enough that way...

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I love how you can just leave your king in check or even go like "Suicide time!"...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]