August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FSCK - A Hard Drive Story

by iiechapman - Jam Entry

fsck -- "filesystem consistency check and interactive repair"

It is your mission to help detect and collect missing files before they become eradicated from from the master boot record. A hard drive takes 10 seconds to analyze, collect, and defragment data from a sector. Use Seek mode and Shift mode to collect all the data points in a sector while avoiding physically damaged portions of the drive and Corrupted Data Points to complete the defragmentation.

Good luck!

Note:
-This is my first time attempting a cross platform game by hand in C++. There may be bugs ;)
-If your game crashes on the mac, try the second "Fixed" version (I disabled the text rendering which causes trouble)
-Windows version Instructions: Unrar the file, and run "FSCK.exe"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#20Innovation(Jam)3.91
#20Overall(Jam)3.94
#56Fun(Jam)3.60
#63Theme(Jam)3.65
#78Audio(Jam)3.58
#105Humor(Jam)3.21
#112Mood(Jam)3.42
#313Graphics(Jam)3.18

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

This is a good entry!

bnhw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Sorry, it crashes for me when I select a corruption level.

Macbook Pro 13" (Mac OS X 10.7.5)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

DETECTING

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Good work!

adekto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

really had fun with this one, got to file06
but i think u need to get it on windows/linux to get the attention you need

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Interesting concept and an overall nice game. I like it! Is it necessary to include the levelsong1.wav additional to the mp3, because it's rather big?

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I love how you have set all the graphics out to interact with the theme you have set and the theme of ludum.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

LOXO THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR DETECTING THAT!!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

The gameplay feels great. The sound effects fit the animations very well. Made it to file6.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

bnhw Could you let me know what the crash log looks like?

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Unfortunately, (such as bnhw) the game crash on my MacBookPro 13" Mac OSX 10.8.4 =/

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

The crash log looks like this for me: http://zupimages.net/up/3/816459893.png

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Im adding a build that disables text, for some odd reason some machines have trouble with SDL rendering text

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Fun! I really liked the audio haha.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Interesting idea! Look forward to trying it on Windows!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36am

Very innovative!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

Cool vibe to the game. The music and sound effects really add to the game. I also really liked the different modes... I became quite good with them. My biggest gripe was that the enemy red dots would sometimes spawn right next to, or on top, of me. Fun little game.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:18am

This game looks really awesome. I'm going to play it on my mac later tonight. Thanks for making the video. It's nice because I'm in the other room on my main PC (linux)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Clever use of theme to make interesting modes

iiechapman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39am

For those of you who have had it crash on your mac, try the "fixed" version, I believe I got the bug taken care of!

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

I'm getting a "MSVCP120D.dll" is missing from your computer message. I just installed The Visual C++ Redistributable 2012 Update 3, but it didn't seem to help.

I don't use my Windows computer often so it might be something I'm doing wrong. Can anyone advise?

iiechapman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

If anyone else has the same windows issue Arcana is having, I can look into potentially bundling the DLL, this is my first attempt at porting it to windows

otresnjak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52am

Also getting the missing DLL. Judging from the name of the DLL I'm guessing the EXE was built with debug settings instead of release...

iiechapman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:58am

Yes otresnjak I am working on the release version oops

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

Alas, the rare and elegant Mac-only game

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

Really love this one. My favorite so far.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

I have updated the Windows version for release!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Great audio and unique gameplay. I don't think I've seen anything like those look mechanics before.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Your source links to a repo that does not exist. Please can we have the source to build on Linux? fsck is the name of the file system check utility on Linux after all :0

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Missing MSVCP120.dll

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

keyboardmonkey I have made the source public, if you would like, could you compile for linux? Maybe we could chat how I can set that up. I don't have an extensive experience in Linux Dev

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

After a look I see you reference Cocoa.h, which is not Linux specific. There is a similar library called librenaissance that is the similar implementation (from what I can tell), but may require some tweaking to build. Initial tries have failed. I will let you know if I find a way...

Cool screen shots by the way!

iiechapman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:34am

The core logic is handled by cross dependencies , main , sprite , button , the rest is wrapper for cocoa

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Solid game. The seek and shift modes were a really nice touch, gave it a very energetic feel.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Missing MSVCP120.dll

FlashRocks says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I had a little trouble getting it started (the needed MS C files are not in the windows build, but I happened to be able to scavenge them from other stuff). After that, it is simply an awesome game, maybe the best I have seen on LD ever. :)

(the needed dll files are msvcp120, msvcr110, and msvcr120)

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Thank you flash rocks , I will pack them in to my build !

Tritax says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Unable to get it running.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Tritax, what OS and what error did you receive?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:34pm

missing dll

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Flashrocks where did you find the needed dlls?

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I updated the build, v2 should have the DLLs needed

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Very nice concept, I just love the setting! Sound is great, graphics are great, and the gameplay is gold! Takes a little time to get used to your "powers" and it's very rewarding to master.
However the collision detections could be improved a little, I was often semi-stuck in blocks.

tower07 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:32am

Very good! You really nailed the feel of being a hacker.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:55am

Light mare , did you play the windows version ? I noticed the same issue on the windows side , there's a precision issue with sdl in windows which I hope to resolve in the future !

iiechapman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:56am

Bmhw I fixed the crash , try the new Mac fixed versions it should work !

Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Found the game very fun, though I felt like it was luck most of the time that got me to win :) I also did get a bit stuck into blocks, regardless, a great entry. Sadly, I Fraps wont record it, so I cannot include it in my LD27 compilation video :/

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very creative game! I liked how you implemented the seek and shift modes. =)
Sound is a little annoying over time, but it was funny.
I couldn't go over the 5th level. =(
Good game! =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]