August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T1me Twist0r

by DigiTec - Jam Entry

Our jam entry tries to take the current trend of quick games and provide them in a framework that makes each of the simpler games more compelling as a whole. We really wanted to capture the natural continuity of a clock and how it would dictate a set of 10 second mini-games.

All of the games were coded from scratch. There is literally no pre-code here other than the SoundManager.js code which I copy between every Ludum Dare submission because HTML 5 audio is just so buggy. That means we pounded out over 8 unique mini-games and intermissions totaling over 4000 lines of HTML and JavaScript code. Of course all of this is available on our GitHub so you can check out the source.

This was a 2 man collaboration. Myself, a veteran jammer Justin Rogers aka DigiTec and fellow game jammer Nassim Amar who has joined in for the first time.

We've added a lot of humor to the mix so please play with some headphones on or the sound nice and loud. We think you'll enjoy the subtle jokes.

We'll probably add polishing touches up until the 6pm deadline. After that the webdeploy branch will be effectively locked to everything except for game breaking issues. You can see further progress in the master branch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#158Theme(Jam)3.40
#361Audio(Jam)2.59
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59
#515Mood(Jam)2.17
#535Graphics(Jam)2.32
#548Fun(Jam)2.17
#559Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:03am

The second minigame was very hard to do, I had to try it 4 or 5 times before succeeding.
For some of the games 10 seconds is a bit too much...

DigiTec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

We are looking into Pottery Barn (the second game). It behaves differently on different devices and we have found some instances where the inputs make the game impossible to beat. I'm glad you got past it though because there are some awesome things further along ;-)

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

Restarting takes forever and some minigames are kinda tough. I like the graphics though.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Loved the intermission!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

I also found the second game took multiple tries to complete while I was able to move through many of the other challenges on the first try. Also my cat was trying to chase the scrolling text at the beginning to the top of the screen, which is why she is now temporarily banned from this room. ;-)

I love the constant tick-tock, and thanks for the intermission!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

lol @ the star wars type intro text. I find the game hard though, maybe it's glitched up on me? : (

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41am

Eeerrrhh.. What to do? :O

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This is kinda confusing to be honest. It shows "Winner" and then nothing happens?

DigiTec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

@Rick - At the top of each mini-game there is a title and a sub-title, the help in the sub-title can often tell you what to do. Or is there a specific game you are having trouble with? We know about the issues with Pottery Barn and we consider them making the game "unbeatable" so we'll release an update to correct this issue.

@Diptoman - You are winning a mini-game, and then once the 10s timer expires we take you to the next board. The concept is continuity of time and the 10s theme so we don't transition you until the full 10 seconds has played out because of the time sync to the clock hand animation in the back.

Apologies, but adherence to the them and deep integration of the theme is one of the things we strived for here. We do realize it is somewhat confusing.

Now, if you are hitting the Winner screen and it never starts the next mini-game even after 10s, that would be a problem we need to investigate.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I like the idea of this game, and I like the sort of mini game idea though the first through levels I can get done way under 10s and have to wait a bit. I did feature it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

DigiTec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

@Jupi - Nice compilation. The voiceover is extremely entertaining. Thanks for taking a look at our game.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:44am

There's so many small things that stop it from being a great game.
The game doesn't resize on its own (yup, I have a 11" air), the tick tock goes on even though i already won the game, starting for the first game when I lose one is annoying. Made it to the pottery barn, that wouldn't shrink :(

namar0x0309 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@ananasblau: Thanks for the feedback. We focused on the 10 seconds rule, so each mini-game lasts 10 seconds. We're tweaking the difficulty. Potterybarn has been improved with control points on the Post-Jam version. Please see http://ld27.azurewebsites.net/#potterybarn (click to skip intro). Feedback greatly appreciated :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Hehe, great idea, well done.

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:24pm

laughed so hard :D
audio does not work in firefox and the scrolling text seems wrong in chrome

DigiTec says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:28pm

@bitowl - Audio was a silly mistake. We could have transcoded the audio into multiple formats and used source tags, but since it worked in Chrome and IE we kinda stopped and didn't realize FireFox didn't work.

As for the scrolling text, I tried in a few versions of Chrome, but couldn't see any major issues. I think depending on viewport size and user scaling though there can be issues so I'm likely just not providing the right environment to hit the bug.

We'll definitely make sure these make it into our list of things to watch out for in future games.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]