August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inherity

by foumart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 seconds tactical strategy/simulation with 5 battles and 6 different types of units divided in three stack sizes.

Strategy tips: Soldiers resist damage while rushing but their speed is low. Barberians are much faster, have higher attack rate but are weak and do less damage. Knights are the fastest units - don't worry to place them far behind - they are usefull for so cold "surprising attack". Finally the archers(unlike the ballista) can be used only to lure some shots(they are not worth attacking).
Survived army is transported in the next battle/attack with slightly boosted HP and DAMAGE (*1.2).

Units characteristic (*3 or *5 according to stack size):
=========================================
Barberian
HP:30, DMG:5, SPEED:2, RESISTANCE(while moving):25%

Light Soldier
HP:40, DMG:10, SPEED:1.5, RESISTANCE(while moving):50%

Heavy Soldier
HP:60, DMG:15, SPEED:1, RESISTANCE(while moving):75%

Archer
HP:20, DMG:6, SPEED:1

Knight
HP:120, DMG:25, SPEED:3

Ballista
HP:100, DMG:40, SPEED:0.5
======================

Enemy Tower damage:20 + (level*2)
============================


My initial idea was to create a battle engine for a RPG. The infinite battles in the RPGs sometimes are such pain but when the payoff comes within 10 seconds max it'll be all right:)

The game must runs at 12 fps for the timer to be ok.

My initial submission was violating the rules of the Compo. In the last hours rush the Compo and Jam rules mixed in my tired head.. as I was falling behind with the deadline I picked some assets from GameMaker and a decent music track by Zehydra hence the praising comments about music. In that point my game had 18 rates already. If you are one of the raters there, please review the game again and adjust the rating accordingly. Thank You and apologizes for the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#508Fun2.98
#574Innovation2.93
#606Graphics2.79
#639Humor2.10
#650Mood2.60
#660Overall2.96
#666Audio2.33
#800Theme2.89

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

I really love this idea. All it needs is some gold and a shop, maybe some upgrades to customize your army. I had a lot of fun playing it. I could even see this working really well on a tablet or mobile. Really great work, it's one of my favorite entries.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03am

Great idea. Has a nice 'old school' vibe to it and the ten-second battles fits the theme perfectly. Good take on the whole thing. :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice idea. I really like the visual stile and the music! Some more variations on the battlefields would have been great.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Nice visuals and audio. The gameplay has potential. The game didn't appeal to me that much, but I definitely would give a more complete version a try.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

this is a great idea! i usually stay away from these type of games because the fighting takes forever. good work with the graphics and music too, but i felt that whether you would win or not was kinda random.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I liked the realization, but it is very difficult to understand the possible strategies. The result seemed pretty random, and I kept on trying many combinations, which kind of ruined the "strategic" aspect of the game.

foumart says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone :) Yeah, my original submission's gameplay became very unpredictable. Maybe that's because any survived army is respawned in the next attack. Sorry for the lack of variations but that was the easiest(fastest) approach moment before the compo deadline :)

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

The music is very nice and the overall theme is great.

Tankenstein says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

I'd like the game, but rule 2.All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours. ** So basically your game completely violates this rule, as you're using assets made by other people, if i'm wrong correct me and i'll re-rate.

foumart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

As I recollected the rules You are absolutely right. Since I don't have an option to swap my entry for the jam now, I'll change the assets to placeholder frames and will remove the music from my submission. I'm sorry for this cheating, but it was not intentional. According the music "Battle" theme was shared on OpenGameArt by Zehydra, so Credits goes to him :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Nice idea, was fun to play!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Not much tactics to it, it feels like you can win by placing your units anywhere. That's the only way you can interact, but it doesn't have much of an influence.

Aslai says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

The gameplay was mediocre at best. It was very easy to beat all the levels with little to no planning. It was pretty entertaining for a while though, and was a great demonstration as to the difference that a little sound and graphics can make.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Good job! Nice game ;)

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:03am

Great job on making this! Only problem I had was that I didn't know what to do at first; I thought my side was the castle haha.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice speedy battles, feel good.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

this is cool

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:42am

Superb idea! I'm really liking the 10 second strategy games. This one is no exception. Love the idea, lots of fun.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Interesting take on the theme. Too bad you had to strip down the graphics and sound. :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:27pm

interesting game -- the graphics dont match your pictures?

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I like the concept and use of the theme, it'd be interesting to have a bit more choice (e.g. having to choose between units to place) but it's a solid entry. Good work.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Nice game, quite funny to play!!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:48pm

ooh cool! It's like that ancient dos game "Ancient art of war".

Good job! It's potentially very fun!

tigerj says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:37am

I think it was really far from crappy! I really had a blast placing units and running the sim. I think the 3rd battle was easier for me than the 2nd.

really really fun and refreshing entry. good work.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:06pm

A bit laggy but the game seems pretty cool. The strategy of winning was really interesting. I wish the game was a bit longer though.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:51am

Wow I absolutely loved it! Very fun strategy game.
Plan and watch mechanics are just awesome.
Great work!

motty says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:37am

This was a lot more fun than I was expecting it to be, especially given that I had absolutely no idea what I was doing throughout the game up to and including completing it. Suspect the latter part is a misfeature, but the former part is exactly what we're all here for.

In short, a fine effort.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:16am

Although a little simplistic, the concept is very nice. Battle 3 seems to be impossible though.

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like the idea of converting these strategy games into digestible 10 second segments. I think with very clear tactical decisions (even if simplified to something like Rock-Paper-Scissors), this could work really well. As it stands now, I have no clue as to how to devise a better attack plan, and the third battle seems impossible.

foumart says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:19am

Thank You for all the feedback :) About the impossible battles - the third screenshot can bring some insights on the "surprising attack" implementation. Althought I admit this has a lot more to be desired.

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:30am

Great ! Excellent work on making a 48h strategy game. Feels a bit random and looks a bit austere, but given the time it's no big deal.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]