August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

War Horse Of Impeccible Desert Taste And Cannons

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, that was insane! but, of course fun. :D

Please, as there is no in-game tutorial, read how to play here because you might get frustrated when things don't go your way.

W,A,S,D to move. you can use the arrow keys, but don't. they are way to far away from the other buttons you need to press.

E toggles unarmed to armed mode.
Q drops the bombs you pick up.

fire or stomp with the mouse.
switch weapon types with
1,2,3,4,5 respectively.
They work by clips, so you only have them a short duration.
do as much damage as you can on the objective and get more.

in order to get items(which is ABsoLUTEly important if you want to beat the game. Do the funniest thing in the game to get them:

While an enemy is stunned(for ten seconds) from your yellow cannon blast, left click with the mouse while your on him unarmed and squash him flat as a pancake!

You have 10 seconds to grab the item, by running into it.

don't die!
If you die, reload the browser if you want to play again.

shoot like colored walls to pass. Each wall has a decent amount of health so you might need a few clips to take it down.

Kill the throne to win the game. <--- important if you don't know what to do in the end.

thanks for playing. :D

-commanderstitch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Humor3.50
#359Graphics3.23
#419Audio2.77
#447Innovation3.12
#479Mood2.82
#700Overall2.93
#752Fun2.69
#965Theme2.64
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Interesting game. Didn't get very far though. It's hard to tell what's the floor and what's a wall. Pretty funny style though.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

Artwork is fine. I like this game because I watched the timelapse too... I gives me the feeling of hard work for the finished game. After playing I can say it is hard to understand the controlls, but after a while it is really fun to play :D Played this game 10 times longer than other games... because of... I don't know!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very interesting and creative game. Though I had to do go through the controls multiple times to really understand what was supposed to go on. I had the problem of getting stuck on the green blocks too, they looked like grass so I figured that they were something you could walk on. The sounds could be a little overwhelming though. Overall I would say the game is crazy, but has good points.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I got confused and gave up. :(

I cleared out the level of enemies, then I went into the blue room, and when I came out, they were all back. :(

The tile set also makes it a little hard to tell obstructions from tiles.

Those niggles aside, when the game was crowded, it was crazy, hectic fun. I think it has a lot of potential if you can make it a bit more approachable. :)

Sound effects were great.

The time lapse was fascinating to watch. I can't believe the rate you crank out working code at. :D

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Strange and funny style. I had trouble finding the end, but it was fun running around flattening enemies and shooting stuff for a while

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

Solid entry. It's a bit too hard but I enjoyed it. Perhaps the game could be simplified a bit so it's not that confusing to play. I had a blast playing it though!

cardboard says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I really enjoyed your game. The few things that I didn't like so much are that the squashing was very wonky (sometimes it would flatten the enemies and sometimes it wouldn't) and the background colors (the enemies shots were hard to see on some of the levels. The game stopped working for me after I re-entered the main stage from the blue stage. I think it put me outside the game's boundaries, because I had full hearts, but I couldn't see myself or shoot. The graphics are pretty good, and the smiling enemies are funny. The varied sound effects for each blast are a nice touch. Great work. :)

ratking says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Really confusing gameplay, but it seems to be deeper the longer I play it. If you can't display the instructions in the game, at least write it below the SWF. ;-)

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Seems like a fun little game, but I think I don't quite get what I should be doing. I didn't find any weapons even after squashing mobs and I didn't find the throne either.

Sestren says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:15am

For some reason the SWF won't load for me. Just a black screen.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very confusing and insanely difficult, but strangely appealing. Even after squashing the enemies I didn't seem to find any items. The blue room was odd too. With some polish to the visuals and the controls this could be a good little arena shooter.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:58pm

When you squash the dudes the items do appear. If a bullet hits a bomb it blows up and disappears... if you collect a green ball that's a green ammo clip, health box for health... :D the throne is in the blue room. the room off to the left is nothing. you only go in there if you run out of the enemies in the main room and need to respawn them.

Spelchan says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Needs work (especially on making walls distinguishable) but the potential is there.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I found the sounds to be a tad repetitive. There wasn't much to do, but I really liked the idea. Good job!

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:00am

Fun game. It took a while to understand the goal for stunning enemies and then stomping them (that's what I get for not reading the directions). Cool visuals and entertaining gameplay. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]