August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Ones You Love

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PLEASE NOTE: This game relies on WebGL to render correctly, and will look terrible without it. Please use Firefox or Chrome if possible. Safari will also work, but you must enable webGL under the develop tab. If you're unable to use those browsers, please download the Windows/OSX executable.

The Ones You Love is a game about a few very important 10 second moments within a single day (and one a few months later). Within those moments, will your actions save a life, or end one? If you change your choice in the past, how will if affect the future?

Controls:
M to toggle Music.
The mouse does everything else. Click to move and interact with people and objects.


The game shouldn't take more than 10 minutes to complete, but just in case you get stuck, here's a walkthrough:

http://zkatz.com/LudumDare/27/Walkthrough.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Mood4.06
#64Overall3.78
#158Graphics3.66
#172Audio3.25
#197Innovation3.52
#378Theme3.35
#404Fun3.10
#434Humor2.46

Comments

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

It feels like ten second windows into alternate realities, very awesome and strangely powerful game!

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Awesome story. Really really liked it. If felt weird to click everything, but other than that its perfect :D
Good work.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Awesome story, awesome graphics, awesome mood! I love it!

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Awesome game!You did an amazing job putting this together!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

...This guy doesn't know how to use the stove??

I got lost after dealing with the charger...

inkajoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Interesting start.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Beautiful!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really nice, short and simple. Not overly complicated or filled with pixel hunting. Good job! Nice graphical style and music.

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Great story, empathy and atmosphere! Pixels also very good:)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Great game! Very good interactive story!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Well done!!

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20am

This was great, like a fast-form adventure game - all the nice puzzle and story elements without all the fuss. Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I found it quite moving, really good job on this

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I love how the game deals with everyday family issues and makes you think about how we should appreciate the simples moments we have with our loved ones, which we often take for granted.
I also like how you get to change what happened, and the audio cues.
Great work!

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Awesome concept i like how you tied it in with the theme also are there multiple outcomes
as i got the good ending straight away.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Really good history, nice gameplay mechanics :D

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Really good work. The story was well thought out, and I liked the various deaths everyone had. The link to the theme was a bit weak but well implemented. All in all really good work!

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

Very surreal and cool. I love unexpected twists in the story :D

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

Awesome use of theme!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:20am

Interesting story concept, nice pixel art. I enjoyed this quite a bit.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

Really heartfelt. Loved it!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:06am

Wow, I really enjoyed that. The story's maybe a bit over the top, but the lesson and the way it's told are quite good. Top marks for mood!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:06am

Unique! Really neat idea. I didn't expect something so nice!

blackhornet says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very good.

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05am

Very unique entry indeed. Well done!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

Loved the mood in this. Beautiful game with a great story. Good job! :)

leparlon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice story, was a nice game to play in the morning, kinda feel the day is up to a good start.
Good job.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Woah. :)

This was excellently put together. Your twist on the theme is very original, and the game mixes a good message with a great presentation; art, music, the works. :)

I'm stunned. All hats off!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Great ambiance for this game, the music fit really well ! The story is really good for a 48 hour game, it reminds me of: To The Moon ! Great work !

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:24am

The mood was set perfect. Very nice game.

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29am

Nice puzzle although there's not much about feedback for each action, only text. But I can feel that I should take my action more carefully. Good game, and I love when you put that wall-clock in every place :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:37am

Excellent.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:43am

Brilliant and heartwarming! Loved it!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

I really enjoyed this :) And I'm a sucker for a happy ending :p I think you may have forgot to embed the font used on the menus :p Fantastic game though, got 5 stars overall from me!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

... Ah no, I see from the pics that the font was intentional, my mistake, sorry

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

That game!!!
Man, very moving story, it is also very long, a lot of work out there, congrats!
Really really like the take on the theme also. Back to the future!

rxi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

> This game relies on WebGL to render correctly,

My setup doesn't support WebGL (I went and double checked after playing the game) but the game looked the same as the screenshots when I played it and seemed to run perfectly fine. Perhaps you were mistaken?

The game concept felt very interesting. Really good use of the theme. I enjoyed how it let the player essentially travel through time and space to these very specific moments, a unique mechanic and interesting to see all these tangent snapshots and how the effects of some events would influence others, I think this was executed incredibly well.

I also liked the important message you were pushing throughout the game: ice cream solves everything.

Overall an enjoyable experience, really nice work!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Hi rxi,

Thanks for the info. I'm really surprised, and I'd be happy to be wrong about the game requiring webGL. If you don't have webGL enabled, the game will default to Canvas2d, which makes the sprites look terrible due to scaling issues. If you happen to see this comment, could you let me know what version of the game you played, and if you played the web version, which browser did you use.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

I like it a lot. Very good work. All you HTML5 guys are making me want to get on the scene.

rxi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

@zatyka

I'm running Chrome, specifically this version:

Version 29.0.1547.57 Built on Debian 7.0, running on Debian 7.1 (217859)


Uploaded a screenshot of how the title screen looks in the browser:

http://i.imgur.com/dI6ay6B.png


And a screenshot of what Chrome has to say about my lack of hardware acceleration:

http://i.imgur.com/KIFvhv6.png

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

good job

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

@rxi,

Thanks for the info. I'm still not sure what to make of i., but happy the game worked for you! Hopefully others in the same boat will be able to play.

Thanks again!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice game! Wish I could fast-forward conversations though. At least the ones you already heard.
At first I wasn't completely sure of what to do so I kept getting the same long sequence over and over again.

The story is certainly touching and immersive. Well done.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10am

Neat little game. Loved the art and exploring the rooms and situations.

meszka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:54am

Love the mood. Lots of nice little details (both graphics and descriptions).

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:01am

Hm, the Mom got burnt to death, and then voila, she's still in the kitchen the next time I go in! @_@
The pixel art is very good in this! Pretty spectacular stuff for 48 hours!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:43pm

@diptomam

Each time you replay a room, it's the same 10 seconds being replayed, so it makes sense for the mom to be fine when you replay the kitchen. If you play a scene after she gets burned, she's dead..

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Whoah! Time-traveling :D
By being minimalistic the graphics let room for personal interpretation, thus the game get's even more connective.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I like how this is not overdramatic but very immersive. Well done!

zillix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:24pm

that was really beautiful. the world was well-made, and the story was really touching. fantastic work!

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:37pm

There is the narrative device called ellipsis going on here, good to see this in a game!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

I'll take one of these over 100 generic platformers, any day.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I love this kind of games that makes you stop and think. The "click everything" kinda gets in the way of story and immersion, but this is just nitpicking. Absolute awesome entry!

crashbanito says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:50pm

These beautiful adventure-esque games are always my favorite when it comes to Ludum Dares, but then again I'm a sucker for interesting narrative.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Really good story game ^^ I like the "optional endings" stuff that happens if you go to the future after certain events

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I loved having these windows into time and seeing how changing those little things made the story unfold in a different way. Having the "result" scene unlock immediately, leaving me anxious how it would happen, was a pretty good choice.

Two things that bugged me a bit:
- The ingame "premonitions" when he referenced stuff happening in the future, like "I think this charger will be important later" or "I should heed the advice of a mother" before she could say it to him. Everything else could've been just done in order without any premonitions and those break the immersion a little.
- The 10 second limit. I know it was the LD theme and all, but I am not sure the game is better for it. It's always just a single action I need to take, and after 10 seconds I'll click back on the room anyway to search for that, so why the break and the extra click in there?

Apart from that I loved it. Great concept with a solid implementation, excellent writing and fitting music - good job!

(By the way, was it a conscious choice to leave the other parent, wherever they are, out of the picture in the end? Having them not included there makes me think they aren't loved. Just a curious note, it has nothing to do with the game per se.)

zatyka says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Hi TobiasW. Thanks for the thoughtful feedback, it is appreciated. Regarding the two items that bugged you:

The "premonitions" - I definitely see your point, and I had the very same thought as I was writing out the gameplay. There are 2 "flavors" of premonitions to consider. One is the premonitions within the story. There are 2 of them, but let's discuss the one you mentioned regarding the phone charger. When you first play the game, if you were to click on the chest of drawers in your room before seeing the fire in the kitchen, you wouldn't even notice the phone charger. I did this because I wanted the player to get the charger only after they understand its importance. So, when it's time to go into the past and actually get the charger, I felt like I needed something to push the character to actually find the charger in the drawers instead of passing it by. The premonition was a quick and easy solution. The other flavor is the text that appears during the selection screen. This is mainly used to help give the player hints as to what they need to do next. Perhaps the game would be more fulfilling without it, but in Ludum Dare, with players usually only giving each game a couple minutes of play time, I want to ensure players wouldn't get stuck, and quit prematurely. If I were to develop this into a full game, I would most likely cut the hints on the selection screen.

The 10 second limit - Yep, I have to agree with you that it ends up hurting the gameplay more than helping it. I had originally planned to have more things happen in sync with the 10 seconds (like in the hallways when your sister is pacing back and forth), and the player would need to perform certain actions at certain moments within the 10 seconds. However, I ran out of time, and had to simplify things.

Regarding the lack of a father, I had considered adding him (my original notes actually have him in the garage), but cut him because I wanted the family, specifically the sister, to be a bit more unstable with having 1 parent. This is somewhat common in literature except the mother is usually the one missing. The reason he isn't mentioned, and doesn't have a portrait was because I didn't want the player to think it was somehow possible to "unlock" him, or a room he was in. It also strengthened the idea that your character should be a role model to your sister.

Again, thanks for the thoughtful comments/feedback/review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed the game. I'm also happy that you realized that last scene was far into the future, and could go there to see the results of your choices in earlier time periods. I've watched a few people play through they game, and they tend to miss that game mechanic.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:46am

Really great! Though a bit confusing, I really enjoyed the gameplay, and the way you used the theme. Just wish I could have more time to read everything.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:28am

This was really good. Finished with a happy ending second go. The narrative and mood was great, sad but had humour in it too.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Just another nice comment. A really well done game. The only thing I didn't got was the last, the grandpa room.

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Video of my first impressions on the game :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=krX54dlblKQ

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:32am

Nice game!
The story was really well done and it's nice to see what would change depending on your actions.

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:16am

I really liked the graphics and music. Well done! :)

dudsen says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:30am

After i understood this time-shift mechanic it was quite interesting! Saw your Post Mortem before playing this - awesome job especially in the amount of time you crafted this!

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Cool game! I'm happy to find more adventure games, and more if they are good games!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]