August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WVVW

by Flai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WVVW is a action-platformer, which, COULD BE somewhat similiar to a certain popular indie-game.. :)

WASD/Arrows to move, Space to change gravity

I wanted to make more interesting graphics but didn't have time.. :(

Requires XNA 4.0 Redistributable.


Editor stuff:

On the left side you can choose active tile.

Left mouse click to add the active tile.
Right mouse click to remove tile (set tile to Air)

Toggle "Resize Button" int bottom-left corner and drag from map borders to add/remove rooms.

Save/Open/Try/New gives you a Save/Open dialog always if the map has been changed! So if you are opening an other level, remember that the first dialog is "Save as" dialog, so don't overwrite the level that you want to open by saving the other level with the same name :)

EDIT: I have updated the game a couple of time because there were bugs that crashed the editor and I had put the player spawn to wrong location... No actual gameplay-changing changes were made!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Fun3.50
#383Overall3.23
#646Theme3.08
#726Mood2.50
#735Graphics2.59
#961Humor1.41
#965Audio1.31
#1170Innovation1.81
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

What a great physic game !

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

its addictive as hell, but it has the same game mechanics as vvvvvv. But i repeat, super fun and addictive.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

As a huge fan of VVVVVV I say - this is great! A proper challenge. Ok, not the most innovative game, but really well executed and really fun.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Nice work!

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

@agumaster

Thanks :) Yeah, I have been planning to do a VVVVVV clone for a long time because it's one of my favorite games, and the theme was.. well, somewhat good for this game so I decided to go for it :) But yeah, it's a blatant copy of VVVVVV, I'll admit that :P

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Very good execution of the VVVVV mechanics. Good level design and a high difficulty. Didn't try the editor, but it was a lot of fun playing. Well done!

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Actually to continue that last post: I actually was planning to make a "time-rewind" mechanic (cough.. braid.. cough...) so that you could do something like make a suicide to get a key and the rewind the game back until you were safe again. But I decided to drop that, didn't have nearly enough time.. Made the whole map in the last 2 hours also :( ...

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Good level design.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

http://puu.sh/4bkNU.png :D

Damn that was hard. But those are the type of games I like. You made good use of the VVVVVVV concept.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Fun and addictive

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Not very original but it works perfectly with a great level design.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:01pm

A lot of content and really well executed! Nice work!

Sheep says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:11pm

http://i.imgur.com/Lcn0PXo.png Am I the first? Am I? :D

Endurion says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Very nice! I love VVVVVV!

Innovation about zero, but very good clone. And great level design. That last stage is a bitch.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:41pm

A really good clone of VVVVVV. Not properly innovative, but well-made and really fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]