August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LIMIT

by Holofire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, what can I say. Took alot more effort than last ld, let me tell you that.

Defend you base with upgrades and beams, destroy the enemies and survive 20 rounds.

It can get tricky during the later rounds if you dont have the laser upgrade and a trigger finger ;)

I'll fix minor 'typo' bugs tommorow if i come across them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Audio3.72
#195Overall3.47
#226Graphics3.50
#274Theme3.47
#362Fun3.16
#402Mood2.93
#851Innovation2.56
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

Nice tower defense, cool soundtrack !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02am

Pretty cool! I think the satisfaction aspect of the game can be improved on. Like drawing a laser to where you are clicking would make the game more lively. Explosion effects on the enemies would be even better.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I Really liked the music, but I thought the game was a little too easy... finished level 20 with over 38 seconds left :P

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Great soundtrack, great graphics, and equally as good execution. I think the tower defense concept is a bit overplayed, but the twist in this one was good enough to keep me playing. Good job!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:11am

Great simple TD, maybe a bit easy (if you choose laser and laser x2 fast)

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Cool game - not starting with some kind of tower was weird though? maybe i'm playing wrong

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

Love the game

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

First thing is: you owe me a new mouse. :) Good looking and very nice music that really sets the mood. When the low track kicked in I was like "Shit just got real! Let's do some clicking!". Cool entry, man!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

Great soundtrack and art, but the game could use more explanation on how to play/visual feedback.

It took a while to even realize the title screen "survive the horde" was a place to click and start the game since no keyboard input appeared to register and it's hover change matches the rest of the title.

The towers that fit into slots were fine, but there was nothing to indicate that beams can only be placed inside your yard, or how they work, or how to manually start the game (is there a way to skip to the next wave?). Being able to click to build walls while in combat was very annoying to have accidentally just killed myself while clicking an enemy crossing over the line.

Pressing "Retry" causes the game to crash (windows 7 64 bit).

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

The instructions were a bit confusing, I didn't know how to use the lasers until I read the comments.

Okay, went and played the game knowing that, it's pretty fun!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Nice graphics! Lovely Soundtrack! Liked the idea! Good Game! Plenty of exclamation marks! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]