August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Get!

by Ninja - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: Source requires Python 2.7 and PyGame

Gameplay:
- A random maze is generated, size determined by player count
- Players all start at same point
- Every 10 seconds pirates will spawn
- If pirate touches player, player dies
- If player touches treasure, player wins
- If all players dead, game over

Default Controls:
- up = w
- down = s
- left = a
- right = d
- select/chat = enter

Controls are editable in the controls.txt file that is generated after running the game once.

To start the game just run Treasure Get!.exe (main.py).

A server must be connected to in order to play. To start a server just run server.exe (server.py) or start one from within the game menu. Once all players have pressed the ready button the game will start. Players can only connect to the server when the game has not yet started.

Play with your friends! (or enemies!)

[PUBLIC MULTIPLAYER SERVER]
Thanks everyone for playing on my server! It will no longer be available, but you can still host your own!

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#375Humor2.60
#480Graphics3.00
#489Mood2.81
#497Overall3.11
#633Innovation2.85
#777Fun2.67
#781Audio2.09
#1042Theme2.48

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

TreasureGet! I got it altough I was alone on that run. The server/client concept is interesting. I will have to try it again with friends ! Great work! Yarr ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

A decent game, I think the server aspect shows a lot of potential for this game. Nice!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Are you really a Ninja?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Very brave to make a multiplayer game for a LD entry, and it turned out pretty neat! I never had anyone else connect with me, but it looks like it would have been cool with multiple people :) Nice "yarrrr" recording, haha.

I like your logo!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Very cute pixel art style, rated highly. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Great game! Really solid mechanics. Wish I could test the multi-player part.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

I'm now hosting a public server for everyone if they want to try playing with others!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Was amusing game!

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24pm

The server had a bug where it wouldn't return to the lobby after the game is over. It should now be fixed.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07am

Really neat, liking the pixel art and the fear of seeing a pirate coming towards you

Sinuath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

Love the concept, fun game :)

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12am

Nice game, I would like to test the multiplayer part, I find it fun, and I liked the graphics, nice work!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very nice idea, the multiplayer concept is always a more-than-awesome feature. Would have liked to play with other players tho.

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Seems like it could be a fun game with many people. I'll try to rally my friends and play some as a group on the public server.

Ninja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:44am

Woot! Thanks everyone for the kind words.

@Aslai: I think you'd be the first to play with friends (other than myself)!

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:20am

I got a group of four together and played for about half an hour. Good times :)

ramoncb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26pm

a multiplayer game! =O

I like the concept and the procedural maze

maybe a addition of bots for a single-player mode could make the game more accessible ;-)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Yaaar!

Endurion says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Quite ambitious, and mostly fun for multiplayer.

Not really a fun single player game though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]