August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

:Fast :Food!

by LPGhatguy - Jam Entry

:Fast :Food is a game about a lovely vampire, Vlad, who timed his blood drinking times poorly and now finds himself thirsty in the middle of the day.

Help Vlad brave the terror that is the sunlight by hiding under trees, umbrellas, and in bushes, while decimating the townsfolk. Beware, if they see you, it might be a dangerous chase after them.

Use WASD to move and SPACE to attack.

For platforms other than Windows, download LÖVE from love2d.org and use it to run the .love file.

Full screen mode uses the largest resolution the game detects that your system supports, otherwise, the game will launch in a 1280x720 window.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Humor(Jam)3.45
#131Audio(Jam)3.33
#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#198Theme(Jam)3.32
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#369Graphics(Jam)2.95
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

soulrot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

'Cute' little timing-based game. I especially like the music ;)

Gloamglozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Very nice job, sadly the game is short albeit very entertaining. Had you more time a series of different levels in different places each more difficult than the last would have been great.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

nice game, I loved the graphics (:

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Hihi! This was pretty fun :) I liked the concept very much.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Haha, the dubbed voices! Had fun playing this, could've used a bit more features. But considering the time limit, good job!

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

Awesome overall. Great flute(?) background music and fantastic voiceovers especially the vampire dying groans haha Works well. Good entry!

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

This is a great way to give a narrative to a time limit that is so arbitrary in other games. The music and graphics are also strangely misplaced (in a good way) with a game about hunting humans. Great work, and I love the voiceovers.

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Fun mechanic and nice integration of humor! There are a few little feedback things that would really help this shine - I sometimes had trouble determining what was going to give me shelter, maybe a ground shadow or some other visual indicator around the things that are safe would help call them out. It might also help to add more feedback for when you are in a "safe" state. I know you have the indicator up on the timer, but I'm usually very focused on the action on the screen, so something nearer to the character or an audio cue might help. I loved the music and the voiceovers, but if you keep working on this consider mixing the volume of the music down or the voices up - they kind of clashed with each other. Great job overall!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I was confused by the fact that I have to say in the shadiw but the shadows were not drawn :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:38pm

haha really great take on concept and a good game too. nice one Ghat.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]