August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fun Little Dollies

by Shugor - Jam Entry

Arrow keys to move left and right.
Spacebar to eject


This Ludum Dare the team was put under pressure due to unavoidable circumstances, so there may be a few things slightly wrong or glitchy. Russian Dollies is a game about a cute Russian dolly and the fun adventures it has. It has ten shells, each being slighter inferior to the last. Ejecting the doll out of the shell explodes it outwards, propelling you up. Use these boosts carefully to maneuver the levels.

NOTE: We attempted to be clever by using a different definition of 10 seconds that didn't refer to time. ("Subordinate or inferior in position, rank, or importance.", referring to the 10 Russian dolls.) Might not be clear as we planned but ah well. You get a bonus for finishing levels under 10 seconds so there's that too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Humor(Jam)3.70
#56Innovation(Jam)3.65
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#220Overall(Jam)3.27
#228Mood(Jam)3.10
#255Audio(Jam)2.95
#270Theme(Jam)3.13
#276Graphics(Jam)3.31
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

I loved the concept. I thought about using that alternate version of "second" as well. Also made me laugh quite a bit, well done.

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

I played it and where's the 10 seconds rule, gameplay whatever?

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

@murilo do you not read descriptions or what.

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

Very cute and innovative! I got stuck on the level with the water, but maybe I'll come back and try again later.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

Yay! A more interesting use of the theme awesome! I also tried to incorporate 10 seconds in multiple ways (in my game weapons have a 10 sec timer but you're also stopping fat people reaching 10 second helpings) so really appreciate what you did there! All in all pretty cool and visuals are great, have you played "Stacking"?

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

level ending is nice. xD. The character idea was really nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

That woodchipper sound never gets old.

agumaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

awesome game, need a bit more work on backgrounds but its great. The 10 second representation is super forced, btw the bizarreness and black humor in it its great.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:29am

Loved the humor. It was a truly WTF-experience. The connection to the theme is a tad loose (yes, I read the description) but the game is definitely a solid entry. Good job!

tony.pe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

Loved the idea, my head's now swimming with level design ideas to expand upon this

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Games should be allowed to be this cute. An interest contrast in themes... would love to know where the wood chipper idea came from!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

very cute.. =)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:18am

haha! awesome

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I thought this game had good graphics. The music was great and the game play was fun and funny at the same time. Overall great game.

isawillo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:11am

Fun game. gets pretty hard

RoseNinja says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:44pm

good job i liked how colourfull this was and the fun gameplay

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:36pm

The ending was totally fitting this game. xD
It wasn't that much of a challenge... but it definitely was weird and dark. My only objective is to take those happy looking Matryoshkas to their demise?.... ._____.

Nice game. :)

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:39am

Absolutely hilarious! Interesting use of 10 seconds.

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Very clever concept! I really enjoyed the gameplay and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]