August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Value of Time

by infernet89 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How many things can happen in 10 seconds? What is the value of 10 seconds for you?
Play that to find an answer.

Mouse only.

---------------------------------------------------------
The post-compo version just have some minor tweaks and anti-cheat system, but for your rate i recommend the first one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#42Theme3.96
#63Innovation3.87
#87Overall3.69
#108Mood3.49
#115Fun3.55
#219Audio3.15
#346Humor2.64
#822Graphics2.45

Comments

balta says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very very nice!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42am

The messages really add to this game =]

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47am

I love it ! The concept of being my own partner thru the levels is really nice ! Cant past level 8, me and my other self aren't good enough hehe. The what can happened in 10 seconds is a nice touch. Good music too!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

I finish the game, veeeeery cool! I really like the level design. My index finger is bleeding now though :) well done :D

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

This is really clever. I love it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Love the puzzles, well done, cool idea with being your own partner.

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Excellent game! The music and text really set the mood!

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Such a great game! Simple but innovative mechanics and meaningful messages that are represented in the gameplay. Also fitting music and graphics. Just amazing!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice, stretches the brain :P

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Awesome, I finished the whole game. I love the concept and the gameplay. All levels are really good too.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Awesome game. Really funny. First one I completely finish today.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Quite cool!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Very well done! :O

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Love the reuse of previous attempts mechanic

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Excellent idea, the replay mechanic. I got stuck at level 8 though.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

coop mouse labyrinth ^^ That is awesome... good for everyones brain after this weekend ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

Really nice game, very deep concept. I enjoyed playing it. I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice work :)!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

Deep! Really liked the thoughts, and the game mechanics.

Zelun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03am

Great concept, man. That music is amazing. And the message you're trying to pass by the game design is nice! ;D

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

very hard for me! but fits the theme nicely!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

OMG! This one i like the most so far! I like how original the idea is. Good work!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

Really liked this one. Once it opened up and I saw what it was doing it really put a smile on my face. Great soundtrack too. Recommended!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Wow, really great and very original idea! The mosaic of the ludum dare pictures is very nice too.

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice use of theme and an awesome new idea.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Wow, the game mechanism is very clever, the levls are well done too. Great job! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really cool idea, I love the self-cooperation-aspect of it.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

At first it took me a while to get it (dummy me), but then it was really fun zooming around, battling counters assisted by my past self. Very cool concept and execution. Kudos!

Spiderhund says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

This is the most interesting and fun concept I've seen!

It's fun watching 4 cursor fly around clicking on everything :P

Amazing work!

Toshiro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very smart.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Fun game, nice job.

Flai says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Really really great idea and gameplay!

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Deep game and great mechanics, one of the best I've played so far.

Falcon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Very cool idea. Enjoyed it a lot.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Neat puzzle game, played to the end. Needs to have a way to reset completely so I can start fresh when that dolt I'm playing with screws up. Or if it already has that, the dolt I've been playing with didn't tell me. :P

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Damn, a game on Ludum Dare that made me actually think. I don't mean about puzzles, I mean about life... didn't expect that. (And please don't expect it from my games). If there were a category "Motivational" to vote on, you would get 5/5 stars.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38pm

@klianc09: This is probably the best comment I've ever received. Thank you

wintermute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Some riddles are definitely smart. Music is the best part imho, why solving riddles when you can just dance to such a tune?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Very different concept. Good game :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:37am

Really interesting game, wouldn't have thought of this myself!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Nice idea. Nice music. A bit too much waiting and too many of the solutions was simply to wait. It did have some interesting levels though.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Great Job. Incredibly satisfying to work along side my other mouse clicks. Created some great puzzles. Well done! :0)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice concept.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

This game has nice messages, you really have a point there :D ... Loved the music, and great gameplay. Nice game :D

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice puzzle game, I liked the "randoms 10 sec facts"

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I loved this game, really well done puzzles :)

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:35am

Very good over all. Though I did not fiinish. Got a little too frustrating after a few levels. Nice presentation, not too bad.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:50am

The messages are great. A clever way to include the theme. The gameplay is also pretty enjoyable. Good job.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:10am

Amazing!! Just brilliant!
Mind-blowingly innovative with a terrific message. This is the best use of the theme I've seen this Ludum!
Loved it!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Like it.. It's kinda like infotainment!

bitowl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I was totally overwhelmed, when the second cursor from the past came up and I got how well the messages fit
awesome!

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I stopped on 4th level because my arm has been hurting lately and I didn't want to make it worse D: interesting idea though

motty says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:22am

Brilliant.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Haha, I love the trivia! Great work.

Static 64 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I didn't understand it at first, but it became very engaging once I did.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

I really like how you developed this. You effectively demonstrated both the insignificance and the power of 10 seconds in a clear and engaging way. My only major suggestion would be to allow the replay to happen even if the player hit one of the obstacles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]