August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Teach Em Up

by BumpkinRich - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As it was exam result time recently the usual stories of exams getting easier / children getting lazy came around.

So I made a game where schools is now just 10 second bursts of adrenaline drenched action.

Kind of Hunger Games meets Grange Hill.

Wasn't sure about the graphical direction. I like the characters but wish I'd had more time to develop the environment and add more detail.

First time I've played guitar in one of my games so pleased I got to do that at last.

All in all, it's 15 levels and has robots, grenade launchers and grapple guns. It's what schools all about.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#465Audio2.71
#639Humor2.10
#712Graphics2.63
#771Overall2.85
#851Fun2.56
#875Mood2.29
#959Theme2.65
#1148Innovation1.89
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Simple and fun! I liked the graphics, and the sounds fit the game quite well. You had to be spot on with your jump timing. It made it feel like Pitfall, which I think is what you were going for to make it more challenging and arcade-like. Thanks for posting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This is a fun little game. I thought it was funny and entertaining enough to play the whole way through. There's some fun simple mechanics in there. I liked it!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Decent.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

If only I was given a grenade launcher for doing well

mollymus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The game has some potential! But I found myself getting anoyed by the jumping mechanic all the time:7 Too much gravity!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Fun, but also frustrating. I felt like the jumps had a bit too much weight to them and couldn't quite get used to it. I really liked the amount of cool mechanics you put in and the rate at which they were introduced. I got stuck on the level where I 'forgot' my grenade launcher and had to quit in shame. Quite a nice game for the 48 hours, good job!

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Quite fun, but like mollymus I kept failing to get the jumps right as they felt a bit odd. Maybe I expected it to take longer to fall or something.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Thanks for the comments folks. I'll take a look at the jump gravity as a post dare thing.

Misfit says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice one! Maybe jumping needs less gravity. But gameplay and levels are great.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Solid platformer!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]