August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fireman Ten

by Zccc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a fireman who has to fight fire through several randomly generated rooms in only ten seconds each.
Don't let the time run out or your life bar deplete or it's game over! Shoot with your water gun with the spacebar and grab water buckets to not loose water. Grab lost kitties for extra points!
Tip: use the bouncy nature of the water to your advantage.

I didn't had time to add any sound, sorry :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#400Humor2.54
#442Graphics3.07
#531Fun2.95
#578Theme3.16
#585Mood2.69
#596Overall3.02
#702Innovation2.77
#904Audio1.60

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

Not Bad! I liked the way the water bounced around. I wish the difficulty escalated, because once you get the controls down it's pretty easy.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Neat game ;) With some sfx and music it would be even better :D Also: SAVE ALL THE KITTENS!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Cool game

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Cool. Would have been nice with more dangers (fire that spreads, something that explodes maybe), and if it got harder as you progressed. Level generation seems well done, I did encounter levels where it was impossible to get to the cats (they were behind the stairs) but never impossible to complete :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Thank you all! I uploaded a new version because I forgot to add a harder progression through the levels. The fire now spreads faster for every floor you complete!

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Neat game!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Cool graphics, I like how the water spurts out x)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice polished graphics, really fun!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Funny game! The level generation is weird sometimes though. Some levels can simply not be cleared. It would also be great if you could walk downstairs instead of only upstairs :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

There are not enough games that include water guns as weapons. This is the perfect game mechanic for procedural levels.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Are buckets of water supposed to be rare? I had none for the first 4 levels and then suddenly 2 in the fifth, just in time.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I liked your game. I love the water physics, and the way the fire spreads. Very realistic indeed :P.

I also liked to save little dogs (or kittens, or wtv those are).

But, this game has problems... It is hard to spot where do I have to go. At first, I assumed all I needed to do was put out the fire, and that I was all set. Next time, try to pick different colors so the exit can be spotted more easily.

Another thing that I would like this game to have is to force the player to put out ALL the fire. That's what firemen do. They put out all the fire...

7/10, would play again.

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I totally agree with N0_Named_Guy. Anyway, it is a nice game, and it could be even nicer with some music and sounds.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The mechanic was very interesting. Would have been much better with music and fx.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

@N0_Named_Guy Yeah, maybe you could just go upstairs if you put out all the fire! But it would be hard because of the random levels and how in the later levels the fire spreads very fast.

@jaj Buckets are as rare as cats and first aid kits.

Thank you for your comments.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Good game! Liked the water bouncing and how the fire spread, nice

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

This game is pretty nice (could use some sfx)! Really like the water effect. Nice work.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

A hero! Nice work on the random generated rooms, they didn't feel too random at all. The fire was fun to watch as they grow around, I probably shouldn't do that as a fireman!

Would be nice to press a key to continue (like spacebar), rather than using the mouse.

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

This sounds like fun and I'd like to play it, but when I run your executable I get an error message saying "FiremanTen.exe is not a valid Win32 application."

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

I love games about kitty cats! And I enjoyed very much saving them. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

I'm sad because I can't run the game in my Linux computer...

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:29pm

It was a bit hard to see where the exit were, but other than that it was a fun little game. :)

panurge says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very nice little game. Neat mechanic and cute visuals. It's a very small point but I would have liked to be able to use the spacebar to continue between rounds, rather than needing to return to the mouse. Good work!

Zccc says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Thanks for your comments!

Amber : I have no idea what that could be...
Rodrigo Robles: I can't port it, sorry :(

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:36am

this was cool!

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:30pm

windows 8 is not allow to run this application on my computer(((

***
me: let me run this application?
windows 8: it's to risky! FUUUUUUUUU!
***
(((((((

Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:52pm

This is great. Really nice presentation and well polished!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]