August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The abyss

by dvdking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dodge 'em all kind of game

Every 10 seconds the game gets harder

There is infinite amount of levels

Controls: wasd or arrow keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#25Fun3.93
#58Audio3.62
#85Overall3.70
#207Mood3.27
#209Graphics3.54
#309Humor2.70
#661Innovation2.82
#876Theme2.79

Comments

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

Smooth graphics

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

Spent a lot of time just trying to get further and further! Very nicely designed game imo! Oh...and we have to break up! ;P

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

It's pretty well executed. The basic idea isn't groundbreaking, although it was nice having some things attack from the side. You had a good variety of hazards to tackle, and the difficulty ramp was pretty good.

There are some nice, old-school sounds. It was rewarding to absorb the blocks as you passed them by, but it is a little mixed-signal-sending. My first time through, I thought I was supposed to go and collect them...until I died. Even after that lesson, there's still this weird feeling that you get when you are trying to avoid them and they suddenly start coming toward you.

It was pretty addicting.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

that was fun, i got up to level 24

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

(I can't run this; it says it's not a valid Win32 application :((( )

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

Great overall experience! Nice graphics with cool music and good game flow. Game mechanics should be explained, I tried to pick up the cubes and died all the time in the beginning^_^

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07am

Those blocks confused me at first. I thought there were two kinds. Good 'aha!' moment when I figured it out.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

Fun game with good graphical and audio atmosphere. The "10 seconds" theme is unfortunately not enough hilighted

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Everything was really smooth and polished. The gameplay was fun and addicting, though I wish there were checkpoints so you don't have to redo the easy levels. I wish I was good enough to see the end, if there is one.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Great gameplay. I liked it played for fifteen minutes. It's really fun.

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice one

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

Simple game concept extremely polished :D
Feels very good to play(smooth as hell) and is A LOT of fun ^_^ Except for the low theme incorporation it's perfect.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

Simple game, and at the same time fun and addicting. I like how the sound effects blend with music.

Great job! :D

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

The idea behind this is pretty basic, but it's executed so well that it's hard not to like. Really nice and simple graphics, too!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I really like the aesthetics, and the sound design is great! I really got into this.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Never thought "avoid stuff" would be so much fun! Definitely one of the better entries!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I like the concept,that you have to avoid the objects first, but gaining them as your score afterwards. Super addictive! Awesome story ;)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Ohhh I like this!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Very well done.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Haaaard (at least for me), anyway hell yeah, I love this game, one of bests Compo enty! Nicely done!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I saw this and thought it would be another dodge 'em game but it actually had substance and a nice mood. Well done.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Fun, you fall!(in most game you run/fly)
Theme... it was ok I guess.

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Wow! Awesome!
beter than all praises)
music+++++
gameplay+++++
graphics+++++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]