August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chicken Snatch

by tigerj - Jam Entry

WASD move.

Space jumps.

You are a fox.

you can only survive out of a fox hole for 10 seconds before you die.

Snatching a chicken and taking it to a hole replenishes your 10 second hunger.

You want to snatch them all.

Browsers that are working good:
Chrome
Safari
ie9

Browsers with known issues
FireFox

if the browser is not listed above it has not been tested yet.

If you find a bug with a browser or other issue please report it in the comments

Thanks for playing my Game!

Made with impactJS and impact++

Title and End artwork by Trillian

Music by MikeyG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Fun(Jam)3.60
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#118Audio(Jam)3.38
#129Humor(Jam)3.05
#148Mood(Jam)3.29
#203Theme(Jam)3.31
#270Graphics(Jam)3.33
#354Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

Profit likeafox ;) Nice gameplay, responsive controller and funny ;) Good work !

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

I like the concept, the music, and animations. I'll probably try ImapctJS for my next game :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

@dekart thanks! if you start using impact and have any questions let me know twitter: @stalkjimmy

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Very fun game! Music was nice and simple, graphics also. I had this weird calm feeling when playing haha.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Awesome start screen. I actually enjoyed the game a lot, simple grafix, but well made, really fun to play, thank you :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I LOVE the artwork. The game concept is fun too, lost a few chickens to foxes myself :(

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very fun and original! Graphics, gameplay, and music were all really good. Had quite a few close calls though, wish the player was a tiny bit faster.

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

thanks @N427 I will take that into consideration when I update the game in November!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great game, really fun and I like the look and sound of it. You just need to work on those controls and you'll have a really amazing game

idiotcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Lots of fun! I really enjoyed this one. Nice smooth controls and not too easy.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Exceptional artwork. I especially like the background. It gives a good mood and setting. Nice job!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

Poor chicken! Fun game with nice music and graphics. It felt a little weird to have the fox going in the jump direction without further pressing a button though.

Mandraw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

really cool game

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Wonderful graphic, that mixes perfectly with the sound and theme! I indeed profited like a fox. :-)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Great job! The game feels very polished, from the retro graphics to the responsive controls.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

That's one hungry fox. and a violent little dog too. Anyway, I had fun playing. The jumping controls took some getting used to, but still worked. Also, my only bug report is that when I finished playing, I pressed CMD+W to close the tab and it wouldn't. Safari on a Mac.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I like how when you die of starvation you explode! The game is fun. It would be nice to control the height of your jumps more.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Cool game, a bit to easy, but this is nothing bad. I liked the strange arc jump, add personality to the game.

Nice music.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great job with this - had the feeling of a classic atari game :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Fun game, creative idea. Liked it a lot. :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Btw, really liked the art, music and the mood too.

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Awesome entry. Really like the retro graphics and music. Wish there were more levels.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

@larb I'm going to add more levels and mechanics in November

thanks for the feedback!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

This is great! I really like the graphics and the way that 10 seconds was used (as the health) I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Nice work on the game. Good music and I like the retro feel of the graphics.

Couple of things I would like to nitpick about:

Dying after having catching chicken just warps you back to fox hole WITH the chicken, so the whole survival aspect is lost. Is this a bug or intended feature? It does make the game much smoother and easier to play, but feels odd.

The traps on the ground are hard to see and don't look like actual traps at all. I thought they were flowers and didn't realize they actually kill you until blowing up mysteriously on same spot multiple times.

But overall, this was very solid entry. Nice job!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This is a great little game. I really like the chunky graphics and general lo-fi style of the whole thing. Th controls are nice and tight and it feels polished all round, everything feels like it fits together perfectly. Excellent work.

Tiago says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09am

nice job, initially did not understand the connection with the theme of the game, but with the course everything was being clarified. I thought the chart and nostalgic.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17am

Great fun! I found the jump pretty ridiculously high, but it's personal preference haha. It was nice running around and snatching some chickens, then proceeding to bring them back to the home. If you plan on pursuing this game further, perhaps a double jump of sorts could allow the mobility you'd like without instantly propelling the fox pretty high.

Some other notes, I would have like some sort of feedback for when I was about to spontaneously explode haha. Not necessarily a timer, but some sort of indication. Ummm.... I played for maybe two or three minutes, but I didn't really notice any incentive to actually gather the chickens. So that could have been incorporated a bit better, I'm sure you had/have plenty of ideas for that. Alas, time constraints. Good luck in future projects!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Rocking good. I think my next game is going to be in HTML5 after what i've seen in this compo so far.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32am

Fun little game! Love the mood!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Nice solid game. Controls felt smooth and game actually felt pretty relaxing to play. Good work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04am

Very nice! As noted by others, dying with a chicken still brings it back to the hole, so that removes really any challenge, but it's still enjoyable.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:11am

@kirbytails7 yeah I talk about that a little in the postmortem. I just ran out of time (typical LD excuse) thanks for playing!

Dew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Nice challenge here i was feeling an adrenaline rush everytime i was trying to get to the hole!

The profit quote made me laugh and you have highscores!

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

@dew thanks! I hope paper maze is developed more. I really was having a blast on that game.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

The controls were tight at the music was fun. I made a lot more progress once I noticed that there were little red ground hazards that you needed to avoid. Cool entry!

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

I had fun playing this! The fox animation, the graphics, everything came together nicely. Great work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

good job

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

@Kitsumeda WOW nice score

Vaughn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Some really nice production work here. Overall a great experience. w00t! I got the best score so far: 174.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice work on the art, it worked well with the low res feel. I like how everything explodes in a bloody mess, it really gives that certain pow to it! Also really catchy tune!

Controls are nice. There doesn't seem to be much consequence when you die though...especially when you grab a chicken and die, you respawn with the chicken still in your mouth.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Great job man, youre clever LIKE A FOX...heh...heh...ehhhhh...nevermind =/. But yeah good game haha

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48am

This was a very challenging game. you had a good balance to keep me playing. Excellent.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Great game, man. An idea: if the height of the jump could be controlled keeping the space pressed, you could have short or long jumps and it would improve the gameplay.

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I like it
the rather funny music makes this game quite humorous :)
nice game, thank you

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice retro style game. Worked fine in Opera 12 for me.

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

This one was fun, but the controls weren't all that solid. I liked the music, though!

paraple-geek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

I really enjoyed your game, nice style and audio. It reminded me of The Lion King on snes lol

Oana says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This is crazy fun. I like the graphics too, even if they are quite minimalistic. I don't get why flowers kill you though... Also, the fox feels a wee bit floaty. But overall, great job!

flarb says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:36pm

This is a pretty good game! I dig the retro style. Great use of ImpactJS. I wonder how it would perform on mobile?

bisk8s says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Cool! I like everything!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:16am

that was really a lot of fun -- what did u use for the music?

tigerj says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:55am

@sP0CkEr2 I have a friend who does my music. He's really talented. I believe he uses que'base.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This is awesome. There's a great retro feel to the game and the artwork is really nice. It's definitely pretty tricky but a challenging game! Keep it up :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice! I particularly like the particle effects.

The controls are quite good but jumping is a bit floaty.

It's a bit weird that you can die with a chicken but still have it when you respawn. Also, returning to a hole should reset your time.

bitowl says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:33am

the controlls are really smooth
I did a lot of death-abusing :D (but it wouldn't make sence if the chicken was suddenly alive again ;))

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:32pm

good job. Nice music

cafeine says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Very good, love the art style!

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

This should be adopted as the official firefox game hahahaha
I just loved it!

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

Nice Gameplay and character animation. Bonus points for using Impact :) Very cool! Got it rated just under the wire.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]