August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Arson Investigator

by Josh Riley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a party full of people, try to find the arsonist who starts a fire every ten seconds. On top of that, make sure you don't let the fire get out of hand, or the party will be ruined!

Controls:
Movement: WASD
Space: Toggle Fire Extinguisher
Enter: Pause
Left Click: Mark Suspects
Right Click: Accuse someone

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#109Innovation3.73
#192Fun3.41
#224Overall3.43
#313Mood3.06
#318Humor2.68
#394Audio2.82
#566Theme3.17
#694Graphics2.66

Comments

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

I really liked it. Pretty hard though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Great work! I really liked it. Nice idea with the tagging feature and such.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16am

Liked the graphics, really fun gameplay mechanics, not too easy!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16am

Liked the game, a little racist (all my bads were black XD)
I would have made it with lvls with less people in the start, also I didn't find the theme in the game

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

I like the concept, and the execution wasn't bad either. A good entry!

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20am

Cool idea, I like how people can spread the fire around the room. Makes for some interesting gameplay.

CTATZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Awesome game! Could definitely be expanded into a full fledged game.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Wow, this is very nice. I'm surprised how well polished it is.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Ha, this is a great idea. Reminds me of Spy-Party, only starring a lunatic spraying everybody with a fire-extinguisher :)

Jorqell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Brilliant concept.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

I really like these Where's Wally/Waldo type games. Yours is no exception!

TinyWorlds says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Good idea! Since you used Unity, mind to provide executables for Linux and Mac (it did run under Linux using Wine, though).
The graphics are ok, but not really beautiful. The music song is short and thus repetitive.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Really fun and original, can get REALLY hard when there's a lot of people though.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Hard one. Difficulty level OK, and the music is also good :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Fun game! Not easy even on easy setting, but it was interesting take on the theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Hehe, I' m impressed by the fire retardant piano ;) I mean, I totally didn't at one point chose to let the party erupt into a massive inferno and giggle mischevously to myself. (Well, maybe a little)

Yup, I enjoyed playing through the game, it's pretty tough on the normal and hard settings, I kept getting the wrong person on those ones, easy mode was certainly more forgiving but still offered a challenge, kudos on adding the difficulty settings btw. Helps to expand the audience of players with differing skill levels, some nice sound effects with the fire erupting!

Overall, a fun, quick game with some decent challenge, me likey!

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22am

creative and original,,, beautiful work ...

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Amusing, thoughtful game. Minesweeper with people. Great theme - with a little more work (polish, settings) this could really be something great!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

That's one of the most original games I've seen this compo! Well done :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice! A bit hard at first, if you try to rush, but really nice idea.

Jan Marcano says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Nice take on the theme!

I found it quite easy on both EAsy and Normal difficulties, but only because the arsonist start more than one fire and I could often look at the group of people near the starting fire and follow them until I saw someone running and doing additional fires. So if they would make only ONE fire and then start running like if he was anybody else, it would be significantly harder overall.

On hard my hardest problem was putting out the fires, I won only because I had two suspects and one of them died so it had to be the other one :P

Nice work overall! Had fun with this neat little concept :)

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:17am

Tough game but really enjoyable. A full version with nicer graphics and different settings would be quite fun I think :)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:51am

Amazing work! This is such a great game. I did all of the difficulties! I think it is a bit unfair that if anyway runs through fire, then their hair becomes red.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]