August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wrath of the Hash Slinging Slasher

by Vnator - Jam Entry

Note: This game requires OpenGL 2.0 to run and will not start up without it. If doesn't start up, you probably have 1.0.

The game is in Java and can be run on any OS (Windows, Mac, Linux).

Use WASD to move and the mouse to aim and use your weapon when you get one.

If you're confused about the phone call on level 6, remember the 3 signs of the Hash Slinging Slasher. At least the second.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#243Humor(Jam)2.60
#311Theme(Jam)3.03
#374Fun(Jam)2.71
#444Overall(Jam)2.75
#467Audio(Jam)1.97
#477Mood(Jam)2.35
#487Innovation(Jam)2.43
#567Graphics(Jam)2.08

Comments

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

It runs, but I've got a weird bug!
http://tinypic.com/r/z9v7o/5

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I'm getting the same error. A white box is taking up a quarter of the screen.

Serishmus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I had the same bug as Thermite.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Facing issue.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Excellent. Gameplay: lengthy enough and good. Difficulty: Balanced. Maybe there weren't ultra-modern graphics but the fun i had definitely makes up for it. 5/5 on Fun.

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Unable to launch using java6-openjdk or java7-openjdk on Ubuntu 10.10:

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Texture width and height must be powers of two: 800x480

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

@ psema4- It looks like Ubuntu uses Open GL 1.0 rather than 2.0, which this game requires. Open GL 1.0 requires that the textures be powers of 2, so to play it, I'd recommend you find a way for your computer to run Open Gl 2.0.

Good luck :)

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I've changed something small and possibly meaningless in the code that will hopefully get rid of the white rectangle taking up 1/4 of the screen problem.

If that doesn't help, can anyone with sufficient experience in LibGDX give me any advice? Thanks!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Fun enough that I was determined to kill the end boss. I liked it, very innovative use of the theme for sure. Some collision issues for sure, but not that annoying. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Crash when I open it in mac (mountain lion)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Really cool game, although the graphics and fonts are a bit poor ;). I like the tutorial and the talking info boxes!

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Pretty fun and cool game!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Great concept and the spongebob tie-in is always appreciated! :D

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Thanks for fixing it. I replayed it, and I liked it a lot. Clever use of the theme which reminded me of the SCP Game. I freaked out a little on the Weeping Angel level. Good work.

Vnator says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

@zanzidorf

Wait, the fix worked? I just had a really random and out-of-place hunch, and it looks like that did the trick! Yay!

Vnator says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Thanks again to everyone who's played my game. I'm glad you all had fun!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

Mother fucking Weeping Angels! Touche Sir! Touche!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39am

Fun little game. I finally defeated the sash ringing... I mean hash slinging slasher!

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:51pm

still rolling on the floor pew pew pew this is patric!

Livsk says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:39am

Fun and creative. Could have better graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]