August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Broken Controls

by ryebread761 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your controls are breaking! Every 10 seconds your broken control (really only directions) will be picked again. Usually it won't be the same, but it might! *I know the gameplay is simple, you don't need to make a gigantic fuss in the comments* Please let me know if you like the idea as I am considering updates past the compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#353Innovation3.25
#488Theme3.25
#752Fun2.69
#1057Overall2.44
#1182Graphics1.47
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57am

Nice concept, better stay near the center ;)

itidus21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

The controls are precise and crisp and if you lose it's definitely your fault.

I found the thing about the broken directions a clever innovation. I had been avoiding the walls for a while. But eventually it struck me. Just what will happen if I go for the walls? Will it crash? And so I tried and I found I popped out on the other side. So I thought, ok now what? They can't catch me now right? Wrong. The enemies keep spawning regardless of whether you kill them. So gradually a crowd is chasing you.

Also I'm a huge fan of the axis aligned rectangle as in-game graphics. And by having a solid square as my avatar I can easily see where I am on the screen.

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47am

The graphics were too basic for my liking. The idea was good. The difficulty didn't seem to rise. Perhaps to make the game harder, multiple controls could break? Or enemies could spawn faster? Reminded me a bit of Atari games. Asteroids especially, since I tried my best not to move. Just shoot the moving things that come near me.

shard123 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

Great game idea and fun solid game play but I found it got too easy very quickly.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:11am

I really like the mechanic and the use of theme.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Good concept, mechanics are strong side of this game. It is bit too easy, but it is really the matter of taste :) Good job!

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:44pm

It's fun to play it for a while, but it's a bit too easy. I actually never moved at all, or - depending on the currently broken direction - only moved on the axis, which allowed me to use either direction.

Sebastian says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Cool, I found enemies spawning pretty much right on top of me sometimes to be quite annoying and some of the colours were a tad difficult to see.

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:38pm

You need a few guitar lessons, but it fits the game mood in a perfect way, had a great laugh. good mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]