August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time [Alpha]

by Cherno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time is a prototype of a game that I didn't really get to finish for LD27, so I decided to just make an alpha to showcase the environment of the game. The game is fully playable (however probably not much fun in its current state), and you should be able to win. :)

The idea for the game consists of physical time pieces. The objective is to recover the ten pieces of time, each piece containing one second of lost time. The enemies to stop you are called Shifters. Upon physical contact with a Shifter, the Shifter will send you ten seconds back in time. If you touch multiple Shifters in a row and end up going too far back in time, further than when you started, you will have corrupted your own timeline, and caused the end of time.

For every piece of time that you restore, represented by a scattered and distorted hourglass, the Shifters will lose one second of their power, causing them to send you one less second (per piece) back in time.

All music and assets were created by me from scratch within the 48 hours of the competition, as well as all code (including engine) using Java.

I'll be continuing to develop this game, properly, after the competition, since I really like this concept and I think I can make some really amazing game out of it. If you want to stay updated with the development of this game, you can follow me on Twitter (twitter.com/TheCherno), or subscribe to my YouTube channel, where you'll find tutorials on making games from scratch (youtube.com/TheChernoProject).

Thanks! I hope you enjoy the game! :)

(Note: source code is coming soon. If you really want it now, you can decompile the jar file using JD-GUI)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Audio4.00
#48Mood3.75
#59Theme3.88
#126Innovation3.67
#259Graphics3.42
#401Overall3.21
#610Humor2.15
#777Fun2.67
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

cr4zyt3rry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:41am

the loading screen takes forever

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50am

Nice game Cherno, I saw some of the stream. :D
The graphics are cool, and the gameplay is good. I like it.
I give it a 7/10

marccspro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05am

Wow somthing isn't right the loading page never stop :/

vexuiz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17am

All I got was a whites screen.

vexuiz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17am

All I got was a white screen.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48am

Nice concept, and I think the music really suits the mood, but as you said, it was quite far from finished ;)

Loading didn't take that long for me, and my computer isn't that beastly, so not sure what was happening with the other guys! :P

Would like to see where you could take this though ;)

Zeno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Didn't run for me, gave a "Could not find the main class: com.thecherno.ld27.Game" error.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Nice concept, and I think the music really suits the mood, but as you said, it was quite far from finished ;)

Loading didn't take that long for me, and my computer isn't that beastly, so not sure what was happening with the other guys! :P

Would like to see where you could take this though ;)

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

if you are getting white screens either you dont have the right version of java or he messed something up.

Brucef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

I get an error trying to run it. I'm on a max with osx 1.8.4.
here is that error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/thecherno/ld27/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

printfn2 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

I am getting the same error, also on OS X 10.8.4.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38am

All I get is a white screen :(

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

Good : instructions on the floor. Ambiance.
Bad : Sloooooow moves, empty level.

dinos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

I get a 'The Java JAR file "TimeAlpha.jar" could not be launched.' error on OS X 10.8.4

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

I'm on Mac and the game didn't launch with a "Could not find the main class: com.thecherno.ld27.Game" error...

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice game!

davedave9 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Loading takes too long (if it ever stops...)
The game has not started and waited more than 5 minutes

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I'm sorry it didn't load in about 15 mins so I'll try again later and rate it then if it works

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

You got me really excited to try it, but sadly i'm also stuck at the laoding screen :( mac os 10.8.2
Commenting so i can find back later, and hopefully you'll have solved the problem :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The music is really epic and it looks very good, but it's a bit too much walking over the map, I think...

kylobite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I'm on a Mac, 10.8.4, and it works perfectly fine for me...

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I got a white screen so I ran java -jar TimeAlpha.jar from the commandline. And it worked.

Cherno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

For all of you who it doesn't work for, I'm working on a fix for certain systems, and I'll update the game when I fix it. :)

jedilemons says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Why does a game done with Java2D need a loading screen that takes this long!? I haven't been able to play it yet, but I'll try to at some point.

goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I am using Mac OSX and it says 'the jar cannot be launched'. Is there a trick to launch the jar file?
Java is portable so it should just run fine. Which version of java did you used? I a, pretty sure I am on the latest version.

Cherno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20am

I've updated the game to be more compatible with previous versions of Java, and I've reduced the loading times dramatically. Let me know if there are any more issues. :)

cr4zyt3rry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

i can get to the menu this time but when i press begin its an infinite loading screen

Littoh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

I can get to the menu, but as i press the Play button, an infinite loading screen appear

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Dropbox says the file doesn't work because too many people are playing your game. I watch your videos and was wondering if you can try out my game and leave a comment so I can come back to rate your game.

RabbitRobot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01am

Excellent. I really love the game. It was so fun joining in on the stream. The graphics, gameplay and theme are EXCELLENT. Great job :)

davedave9 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

After I press start the game is loading.. it's been like that for the last 10 minutes. Win 7 Ultimate.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Hi, still took ages to load! I like the theme and the idea and the mood. Good use of the theme too.

hispafrican says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

if you're getting stuck on the loading screen it might mean you ran out of heap space. if you run the jar from terminal with this it might fix your loading issue:
"java -Xmx1500m -jar TimeAlpha.jar"

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

Good game, very different interpretation of the theme. However, there is too much slow walking

Sep 20, 2013 @ 1:06am

Great game! I love everything about it! I watched some of the live stream too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]