August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Make way !

by neekobus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconcd to guide your big Chief to the exit by placing the minions on the road.

The number of minions left is shown on the left bar.
The big chief is always going in that order : front of him, his right, his left or back.

Tested on Opera, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Safari iOS.
If you have IE, please tell me if it works !

Tools :
Sublime Text 2, GIT, Chrome tools.
No frameworks, "pure" Javascript and canvas drawing.
2 * 12h of work, from brainstorm to release.

Thank you for testing !

All the steps still visible here : http://nee.free.fr/ld27/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#647Innovation2.83
#714Overall2.92
#742Humor1.95
#773Theme2.92
#777Fun2.67
#789Graphics2.50
#906Mood2.24
#945Audio1.40

Comments

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

Game looks fun, sorta like Lemmings. I like this idea ;)

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

A bit hard to grasp at first but I finished it. Why so many minions in the last level?

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

ncannasse : it's like a grand finale :)

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

I wasn't really able to work this out - my minions just kept going from left to right and not to the exit - what gives? :)

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

robashton : you have to put the minions (the red ones) where you want (by clicking the board) to "guide" the big chief (the blue one) to the exit.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:51pm

It is a bit difficult to figure out in which direction the Chief will go after a collision with a minion, and a fast-forward function would be nice.
Other than that the game is pretty fun!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

It was confusing. But looks interesting.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice puzzler! Simple but effective.

I found level 2 harder than 3, but maybe that's just me. Too bad there aren't more levels. I wonder how far this concept can be pushed.

It would be nice if you could see how many minions you have, and if you didn't have to wait for the timer in case you just want to start, or similarly, when you want to give up because the guy is heading the wrong way.

It could also do with some more explanation; when there are multiple options, it seems the guy will always turn right?

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Frozen Fractal, Burhuc :
I wanted to put an explanation, but I rather go to sleep :)

The big chief is always going in that order : front of him, his right, his left or back.
The number of minions is shown on the left bar.

At the begining I wanted to put many types of minions (explosives, teleporters, ...), but you know, time...
And good idea to put a fast-forward, thank you.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Cool game ! efficient concept :) A bit frustrating to have to wait each time you place your minions though

liqwidice says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Just a little spelling error: It says "To Late!" When it should say "Too Late!"
Really good game though :)

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Cool game! I made it to the end, although I wasn't sure why the last level was really easy compared to the previous ones.

It would be nice to be able to just look at the level before starting any kind of timer. I found myself ignoring what was going on while planning my route and just restarting once I knew what I was going to do.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I dont understand this game, couldnt get it to work, how about a tutorial?

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

negative: Sadly no animations or audio.

Positive: Clever idea, the sprites look good, it runs smoothly, uses the theme well, and it's really fun! You get bonus points for doing this from scratch in JS, too. That's really impressive.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Didn't work in IE for me but I'll try it in Firefox instead :)

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28pm

tripleVisionGames : What version of IE ?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Nice idea, if bit rough around the edges. Took me a moment to figure out what to do because the overall feel is bit clunky.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

I got a bit confused regarding the boss movement.
Besides that I liked it :D
GJ :D

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice game. I definitely thought the level in your picture was harder than the last one, but the game was fun.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Fun I liked it

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Well, it was pretty hard to tell what I had to do at first, but once I got it, it made sense. It was a bit annoying when I accidentally placed a minion in the wrong place and had to wait until the turn was over to try again. Also, the idea that you need minions to push yourself in the right direction is a bit odd, may I suggest replacing the monsters with something that makes more sense? In the end, an okay game.

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

More levels please! :D

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Good little puzzle fun, would have liked some diversity in guys/effects maybe. :)

neekobus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

mboaj, Joror : Oh yes ! I'd like, too :)
Maybe soon :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Great puzzle mechanic. Some sounds would have helped a lot :) Otherwise a nice entry.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:43am

It was difficult to understand the game at the beginning, but after that, the game was very fun.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Great game idea and nicely implemented. I miss the ability to reset levels. And it would have been nice if there were much more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]