August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

glitchme.exe

by Sos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It traverses it's own memory glitching out and crashing after 10 seconds.

Visual structures memory arrangement makes it possible to visualise the glitching process.

Check infographic for instructions.

Do not debug.
Do not run as administrator.
Do not run under Windows 9x.
Works under Wine.

Made in 6h or so.

--- SOURCE ---
I commented and uploaded the source, check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Humor4.11
#15Innovation4.19
#21Theme4.07
#118Audio3.41
#171Graphics3.63
#174Mood3.33
#271Overall3.37
#366Fun3.15
#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Mironix says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Love it!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:59pm

That is so funny! Nice job!

teddy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:01pm

BAHAHA that is hilarious!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Oooh, i'm so bad at this game! It seems i can't win :(
Nice experiment!

Esenti says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Great ;) Also works nice under Wine.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34am

Oooh, very clever, love it! The game glitched out in the middle of saying "you win', hilarious.

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Really fun to play, it's challenging and addicting, and it makes me laugh every time it crashes. wonderful job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31am

Ha, it actually breaks after 10 seconds.

Nice visual stuff. I like the inverting of the colors. I also notice the Sosowski-Style beat in the background :P

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

ahaha GoodJob and nice idea. 100% theme

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Can you win at that game?!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

The mouse goes all crazy after the crash hahaha.

It was a really good trip :)

m1_10sz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

That's crazy. I love it, lol.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Hahah, this is amazingly bizarre. I wish it lasted longer :P

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

hahaaha funny take on the theme... wish it was longer now!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

It traverses it's own memory. This is really cool. Although more a techdemo than a game...

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

There's a great sense of speed to it, once you get going. I wish it lasted longer. I think it would also player better (easier, at least) if the left and right arrows controlled strafing instead of turning.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Wow, didn't expect that kind of a game ^^
Really good :D

Norgg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Wheeee, the source for this is so cute.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Looking the source. That's crazy! You're a psycho Sos! 5 starz

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

okay :D

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Weird, but I wouldn't expect anything otherwise from Sos, the Marcel Duchamp of indie game devs :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Haha it's kinda like a super speeded up version of ice fishing v at least in the visuals and the mindfuckingness of it all!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Crashes on death for me :/

Vavassor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

Hahaha, I didn't expect the title to be so literal! Very nice visuals and sense of speed. I liked it a lot.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16am

I'm a bit disappointed, I thought my monitor would explode.

But the idea is great! ;-)

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16pm

awesome D:

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Even though this game does crash, its a pretty cool game and a great idea :P I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:05am

This is the only game so far to make me laugh. :)
On one of my attempts I heard a robotic voice start to say something unintelligible right before it crashed... Does... Does that mean I win?

BNeutral says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:32am

Hahahaha I love your crazy games Sos.

Cosr says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:05am

Yeah, that's just cool.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I don't know why I find this so enjoyable, but I really like your implementation of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]