August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Call

by Yakka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

And suddenly, your phone rings.
"Hello Daniel. This is Sarah."

***

The Call is a very short narrative game. Each game makes you discovering a bit more about your past.
I've worked with Processing. If you have questions, feedbacks or remarks, please contact me on Twitter (@Yakkafo) or in the comments. Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Innovation3.79
#158Overall3.54
#166Mood3.35
#184Theme3.60
#359Audio2.90
#462Fun3.04
#700Graphics2.65
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Lt.Emi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

<3

dumasflo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

<3

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

3>
Seriously though, I like it! I think the screen needs to be bigger in order to let you make more meaningful choices about where you wanna go, but it's really cool.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

Took forever to download just to tell me it couldnt open the file...

Yakka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

Jupiter_Hadley, what version did you try to download?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Brilliant. Nothing short of brilliant. I loved how the narration unravelled the more and more you played, and I think the idea fits the theme very, very well. I would have liked a bit of audio feedback maybe, but still, kept playing over and over to explore more of the paths. Have I said this is brilliant?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53am

Really cool concept, It's just that it's damn near impossible to make a decision if you can't see the whole labyrinth.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

Well made and satisfying. Rebuilding the story is surprisingly addictive, but may have worked even better with some excuse to make us restart. First LD Compo : success !

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Interesting idea and take on the theme. It hung up on me a few times, (the game, not the phone), but really that just gave me the chance to replay it and know a bit more about what was going on.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I really liked the look on 10 seconds. Really interesting approach. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

My character got lost off screen a fair bit but all in all, really nice. Really cute art too. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:47pm

What an amazing game! Thank you so much for making it! I would love to play it longer, and have more choices to make. Excellent work! Congratulations!

Tavrox says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05am

Too much from the ENJMIN 'round here !
I can't play the game yakka :( , says "miss javaw.exe"

Yakka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

Tavrox: Do you have java installed on your computer?

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Really nice game concept. It's just a bit frustrating to go a path and realize you would prefer to say something else than what's coming to you.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Sorry, no Java here.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

<3
What an awesome dialogue system. This could be expanded upon, used in other games, and so much more. Extremely impressive idea and work!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:25pm

amazing narrative! played it over and over and found the storytelling very well made. perhaps that the ending often felt like it was a little abrupt, and i wish the screen was wider, because i sometimes couldn't read all the text when i finished the sentences, but that's about all the criticism a have. great work!

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:30am

Cool. I really like the concept. Very interesting

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]