August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Death Rooms

by Jan Marcano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

===============================================================

IMPORTANT NEWS

Added A, S, D button layout as an alternative to Shift, Z, X since there were people with layout issues that made the game more difficult to play (different key placement than mine)

===============================================================

========================================================
Had to delete web version, it was too unstable
========================================================
I update Highscores manually so please, be patient!
========================================================

Twitter: @AldianSolkai

Survive through endless dungeon rooms and go as deep as you can. In each room you'll have 10 seconds to complete your objective; which includes either killing all the monsters, or jumping trough traps to get to the exit.

=============================================
CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys: Move
Z/S: Jump
X/D: Attack
Shift/A: Hold to sprint
=============================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#105Fun3.57
#107Audio3.45
#202Overall3.46
#265Mood3.14
#277Graphics3.37
#353Theme3.37
#477Humor2.38
#674Innovation2.80

Comments

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51am

hola Jan :))))))))))))

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

Haha I sucked at staying on the tiles.
Fun game, nice music as well.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46am

I will try again later, you saw the crashery.

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Only managed to clear 9 rooms. :D There's nice variation on the maps. Somehow the shift, z, x controls felt a bit weird as there's one key between shift and z. Probably three adjacent keys would have been easier. Like zxc or something. Also the game gets frustrating when you fail on the last gap or monster. :D But that's not a bad thing as it's only the player to blame and not the game. So yea, nice entry. :) Music and sound effects were peaceful (although the action itself gets pretty intense at times :D). The monster and player sprites were cute, too.

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Lovely art and a fun game!

ISaySup says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Great game with some awesome audio!

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I've seen some of time limited platforms this LD but this one is the best implementation of the concept so far ;) . Keep up the good work ^^

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Really fun game, it kept me playing numerous times to try and get a better score. So far the best I can do is 9. It's a game that with a bit more polish and more possible level generations it could be really good.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Great sound, fun gameplay, tight controls. Cool game.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Really cool game! I liked the randomness. Had a really cool NES Zelda feel to it! Was it just me or did some levels stop halfway through?

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Incredible music. The game is funny but a bit frustrating when you press the "<" button instead shift button (spanish keyboard)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Great game, very fun and engaging. The controls were a bit suboptimal though, since I'm using a german keyboard, so the Z is where you got the Y, which made everything a lot more difficult. :D And so I wasn't really able to use all three abilities.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Fun game with great music and a nice art style! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice! I liked how you did the character, looked very lively with the hair moving! Too bad you didn't make walking animation though.

As for gameplay, this was pretty well done, even if bit rough around the edges, hitting enemies is a bit difficult with such a short forward slash.

The game crashed on me after clearing around 8-10 rooms or so. It was fun until then, nice work!

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice, platforming works well and its a solid game overall.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Just played Death Rooms. Great work! Love the randomness. All it needs are particles for version 2! =D

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Not too bad. Those bats are really tough though, and there isn't as much variety as there could have been. If only you had more time! The graphics are pretty good too.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

I snuck in playing your game at work. xD I like it. I think it's great that you only lose a life for failing a room, and getting hit just costs you time. I do wish the levels weren't random. I can lose a really hard level and then get three single-snake rooms in a row, and that feels a bit silly.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

It's like a pyramid of mini games:3
fun.
A lil bit of polishing would be good though

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

A nicely polished and fun little game. I cleared 7 rooms and then the difficult seemed to really ramp up! As a dvorak user the keys were a right pain too - would be nice if you had alternatives with ctrl/shift/space/etc. The music was very nice.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26am

Fun little platformer. Hard as nails on some parts. But the rooms had nice variation and the music was quite good. Nice job! :)

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

The platforming levels were much harder for me than the combat ones.
I would have liked if jumping up, on the top of the screen did not killed you. Overall I had fun with the game and found it pretty enjoyable.

Killswitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57am

Something's wrong with the frames for me.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05am

Pretty game! I liked it a lot :) The controlers worked just fine and because of that it's just more fun to play! :)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Music is very climatic and pleasing to the ear. :) And gameplay is nice, but some levels are difficult. Summary, it's really solid work!

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Funny game :)

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really enjoyed the random generation, but occasionally ran into visual glitches that made it near impossible to win. Hope to see a finished version after compo!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Nice game, Some levels I found very hard, others very easy. Loved the idea of it all being random, very well done. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Awesome work! I really like the simple game start, with the controls and stuff. Visuals were very nice, good controls and overall a nice game. Sound was background (in a good way) and the puzzles were the right difficulty. Keep it up!

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Good music and gameplay, but lacks variety and polish in general. Updating scores manually would become too hard with many players, consider using/making an automatic system.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Nice game! Looks like alexkid!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Pretty charming art, would like to see her walk and attack animation. I really like the idea of random rooms, it kept the game fresh. I suck at timing those disappearing tiles though, mostly because I run out of time.

I had fun playing this game and the randomness is cool! You can expand on this and add the same sort of AI they did from Left4Dead which determines the difficulty based on the player's skill. :P

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:55am

Haha, that was really hard to beat the exit levels!
For me, the downward acceleration on the jumps could be a little lower for the jumps to have more control.
Nostalgic graphics and the music was great and classy.
Good work!

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:15pm

10 rooms cleared! (my bestest) :P
because most of that 10 were "Kill all monsters" room.

The platformer rooms were HARD!
xD

It's like a one shot only. If you failed the first try, there's like no way you'll make it the second time.
:P

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:09am

Very nice! I think there's a bug with sprinting when you die keeping the sprint state active?

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very nice :) I recorded a "First impression" video on it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbQRgniInFM

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]