August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Warped

by Catmoo - Jam Entry

I present to you Warped, my take on the theme of 10 seconds. Warped was created in game maker and I also used sfxr and musagi for the sound and music.

All instructions are stated in the game, however just to clarify here you can use W,A,S,D or the arrow keys to move and the spacebar to fire.

Warped is the story of a guy who just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, something seems to have malfunctioned, changing his surroundings, himself and many other things every 10 seconds.

For reference there are five environments, five enemy types, five players as well as 5 weapons types for yourself and the enemies. They've all been created as if they were from a set.

At heart it's an ever changing shooter and I had a lot of fun working on it. I did miss the compo entry which is what I was aiming for, but the game demanded more assets than I could create in the designated time-sleep and I decided not to cut any (what was I thinking!). I ended up using an extra 10 hours from the jam to get everything else sorted, although I probably could have done the work in 5 hours extra. Either way I didn't make the compo and that makes me angry, but I hope you enjoy my game!

Enjoy,

Catherine Woolley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Humor(Jam)3.52
#88Fun(Jam)3.48
#198Theme(Jam)3.32
#201Overall(Jam)3.31
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28
#382Audio(Jam)2.52
#461Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Brilliant and amazing good work :)

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice little game :) All the malfunctions were really fun. I was waiting for them to happen to see my new ship or the ennemies!

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

Awesome, SHMUP action! I really like how you used the theme to add the player rather than hindering them.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22am

Great fun! I loved the hot air baloon, surfing astronaut and the unicycle badies! :D
great backgrounds too. Also, bonus points for space! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51am

great use of theme -- nice artwork -- a very solid game

Cotton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Good scroll shooter! Cool artwork, really. All enemy were fun!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:21am

I really like malfunctions! The game is fun, too! :)

Ninquo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24am

never thought I'd be shot by flying tigers with giant peanuts^^

siat says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33am

That was really cute. Nice music, too.

zeh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:34am

Pretty solid shmup for a LD. I approve of the UFO use.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

pretty cool
favorite anomaly was when the ships turned into cyclists

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Awesome and funny game! Very cute, I like all the graphic changes.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:21am

Solid shooter!

Love all the details that are in there. The parallaxing background, the ship catching fire, the sound-effects.

The bugs are cool system :D

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Really fun graphics !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]