August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Up-Run

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Why do you care so much about winning? Second place is good enough. In fact I'm challenging you to get second place in all of these 10 races to the top of screen.

Use left and right keys to move your ship to touch the arrows. Touch an up arrow and it takes you up. Touch a down arrow and it takes you down. You can't be damaged by your 2 opponents, but the other strange creatures in this neon world will stun you for a moment.


Created using Scratch; music: Caustic sequencer; Sound effects: sfxr; Graphics: Doodle toy.

To run the game click on the green flag in the Scratch window.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#316Innovation3.31
#489Audio2.68
#762Humor1.92
#851Fun2.56
#868Graphics2.37
#929Overall2.65
#973Mood2.10
#997Theme2.58

Comments

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Quite different concept.. But it felt like a waiting because you always have to wait for another ship to get to the goal and they are quite slow to get to the finish line.

...Also it dosn't really have anything with the theme.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

A racegame with the goal to finish second - ten times. Now that's something new to me. It's totally win-able, but you depend quite a bit on luck, once you reach the upper border of the screen, since you can't evade anymore...

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Interesting concept. I'm not quite sure how the scoring works, but what's to stop me from waiting up at the top for someone to pass me and take 1st? Also, the races seemed to take a while to complete, with some sections of relative inactivity that were maybe a bit too long.

I'd like to see more expansion on the concepts in this game.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Oh boy, it took ages until I realized the top of the screen is the finish line. :D I though "lol, the leading one is out of screen, just chill in front of the other one and wait for the finish to arrive."

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Good theme idea. The music is really cool. It was kinda spoiled for me by really low frame rate and occasional freezes.

Wertle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I was hoping to see people do the "10 times in second place" interpretation! It definitely adds a new mental layer on an otherwise very intuitive game. I love the shameful music that plays when you accidentally get first place :)

Hegemege says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Really nice soundtrack! I understood the game mechanics pretty fast, but was still unable to get 2nd place in the five matches I played because I would always get boosted by up arrows and couldnt evade them :( Would've been better if the AI moved faster/picked more upwards arrows. Nice concept though

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Original idea. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

But this game was real fun, didn't get the theme to 100% but the idea on NOT winning I liked. One of the games I've played the most during LD27

garygreen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I agree the stages are a bit long. I really should have worked on the ratio of up/down arrows and speed and the opponent AI, but I ran out of time. I'm going to work on it again over the weekend and hopefully come up with an improved version that freezes less too (I think that was caused by my needlessly generating lots of arrow clones.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

It's a cute game with a fine idea behind!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

interesting game fun and simple good job

Misfit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice concept. It would be great if you could push other drivers etc...

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Great and unique game concept. Indeed, to be first is easy in this game, but to keep between the two opponents is tricky sometimes.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Interesting. Pretty fun but felt a bit punished by plain bad luck. Also did feel like the AI took a bit too long to get to the top.

Afal says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Really liked the tactical aspect of this one

motty says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really good idea, nicely implemented, love the sideways interpretation of the 'ten seconds' theme. Wish the game was more fun than it actually was though. Suspect that it could be so with a bit of tweaking to parameters - the distance moved each time is so small that winning each round is just a matter of meticulousness and concentration. Perhaps with greater moved distances a bit of challenge could be introduced and some element of fun brought in. Alternatively, it's possible that the game is indeed fun as it is, but it's just not a game for me :)

Couple of minor quibbles - at the beginnings of rounds once or twice the game was telling me I was '2nd' when I manifestly was not. Secondly, the non-arrow non-competitor items didn't seem to have much if any noticeable effect (disclaimer - I only played three or four rounds).

All that said, a fine effort.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Funny game but no idea why as soon as the first ship reached the finish line, I had major slow down and I couldn't play anymore =/

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very neat concept... and thanks for posting what tools you used to make the assets. I'll be checking out caustic and doodle toy.

If you like making things with scratch you might want to check out stencyl.

namuol says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:00am

First entry I've seen with Caustic-made music; cool!

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Where 10 sec?

garygreen says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Thanks again for all the comments. The scoring system is a bit hit and miss & for those who didn't get my take on 10 seconds it was... you have to get 10 second places in the race to get the best score ie a huge bonus score.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]