August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Crystal

by Xaipher - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio(Jam)3.16
#330Graphics(Jam)3.12
#354Innovation(Jam)2.81
#369Theme(Jam)2.92
#380Fun(Jam)2.69
#397Mood(Jam)2.62
#458Overall(Jam)2.73
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04am

The lack of instructions makes it difficult to appreciate the game fully - if you're reading this you should edit your entry page to add some - but there seems to be an interesting kind of strategy game here. The graphics and presentation are quite nice and though the music wasn't created for the game, it fits well.

Xaipher says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10am

@shockedfrog: First, thank you for taking the time to review our entry! Now in regards to the lack of instructions. I have updated the menu navigation for 'Help' to give an overview of the game elements and uploaded a screenshot of the help screen.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice interface, I like the concept of the game! Thanks for the screenshot it helped me a lot to understand ;)

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Too, too, TOO SLOW! Awesome game overall, but this is one of the worst ways to use the theme. I'm too impatient to wait for every rounds.

Also, I don't know how to win. But concept is good, fun is high, and graphics are simple&nice!

Gidaio says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:19am

I understood the basic method of interaction with the game - how to place units, how they move, etc., but could have used more information about what the units were doing - how attacking is handled, what makes Archers and Assassins different from other units, and what's dealing damage to a time crystal: do units moving off the top of the screen deal damage? do units standing in front of the crystal deal damage? There didn't appear to be any sort of indication. I tried blocking enemy units with mine and sending some attackers down the center lane and eventually won, but I didn't really know why. Good music though, and the sprites were pretty and very effective icons.

foumart says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice idea, graphics and ambient, but the whole thing feels incomplete. Need to think about the units that just leave the field, are they damaging the enemy crystal? Archers may shoot from distance, warriors could fight from adjacent columns and so on.. need a visual feedback on what s happening, or at least health indication of units and base. The music is lovely. Keep up the good work so far.

tryzor says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:56am

Really nice soundtrack ;)
But after 10 minutes the game crashes my Windows 8 PC.

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:15am

broke on windows 8 ((

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I was a bit confused as well. It seems like there might be an interesting game here but I was sending people up to defend and people just seem to occasionally disappear.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:31pm

It was pretty fun, although a little confusing since i didn't notice the instruction image until after playing a little bit of it. I liked the art though, really reminded me of old school strategy games. Nice one.

Yoni says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I couldn't really understand how to play the game, even after reading the help screen. It is unclear how to destroy the enemy crystal and the outcomes of the soldier battles, etc.

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Way too slow, poor use of the theme, but other than that good concept, nice graphics and audio, and had enough potential to be fun for me to rate that good :D

zutang says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:11am

was a bunch of things we wanted to add but Xaipher wasn't feeling so good so he didn't get to use the full time given.This is also our first completed submission and that's what matter to us. but next time we wont let you down.(i'm the artist of this game)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:09am

The music is awesome, and I like the concept. The game moves too slowly however, and the mechanics (such as gem capture and how units fight each other) isn't clear.

Oana says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:13am

Please give more instructions next time, and have a nice description on your page. It would really really help.

gamepopper says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:04pm

While it took some time to figure out the controls of the game, I really liked the concept. The graphics and music are really good. Really enjoyed playing this one. :)

Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:31pm

hoestly i thought the 10sec timer was the most annoying part. lol the theme. which i thought was funny. nice work with the grid and inv systems, and the wiggly sprites.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]