August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life Flash Before Your Eyes

by ObscenelyTrue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Life Flash Before Your Eyes" is a survival point and click. The hero aims to remember his own life to postpone death. Each new memory gives him 10 extra seconds. To do this, you just click on the right word in the right place at the right time.

Note that sometimes the same object/person can be used several times (even in the same place).

How to install it on an Android device?
1. Allow app installs from 'unknown sources' (in Parameters > Security)
2. Transfer the .apk to your device (by email for instance)
3. Install application by clicking on the file

IDE: eclipse
Music: cgMusic (Thank you TammiLion)
Sound: just one click from freesound.org
Tag cloud algorithm: inspired from Weiwei Cui; Yingcai Wu; Shixia Liu; Furu Wei; Zhou, M.X.; Huamin Qu, "Context-Preserving, Dynamic Word Cloud Visualization," Computer Graphics and Applications, IEEE , vol.30, no.6, pp.42,53, Nov.-Dec. 2010
doi: 10.1109/MCG.2010.102

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#180Mood3.32
#274Audio3.04
#281Innovation3.36
#618Graphics2.78
#693Humor2.00
#700Overall2.93
#773Theme2.92
#890Fun2.50

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

Sorry, no Android here.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

First off: I am really not sure whether I'm playing this game right. "To do this, you just click on the right word in the right place at the right time." is easier said then done - what makes a word be right, and when is the "right time"? Is there only one way to play the game? I am pretty confused.

The presentation is nice. I like the music (thanks for pointing me to a generator I didn't know!). I think it could benefit from new sound effects and better feedback in general, for example telling me whether my click was right or not and when a new sentence appears. A timer might've helped too!

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

In fact, clicking on a tag activates a memory in connection with the place. Each new memory brings new tags that will enable the player to unlock new memories.

There are several ways to reach the end of the game. The game is not linear at all because the same tag can be obtained with different memories.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Yes cgmusic is a great tool... and I'm sorry to have developed a game exclusively for mobile. But I really like this type of interface...

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

No android here. :( Would you be able to make a gameplay video, perhaps?

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I love this. I was confused for about a minute before I realised that was going on. It's brilliant and works perfectly on my Nexus 7 :D

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Tried it on the emulator and it worked.
I will try it on my phone later.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I try to make a gameplay video.
The game works on any Android device since the OS version 2.2...

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I like this. I seem to keep running out of new words to click on way before I see any kind of ending but it keeps pulling me back in for another try, which is always a good sign.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Audio is nice! (at least Windows port would help you getting more ratings)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Looks like so much fun! I wish I had an android!

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I like the concept and the atmospheric music. Maybe you could have done a web based application.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Interesting experience! Nice concept and music!
Works on my Galaxy S3, but sometimes I feel like I can't tap a word because another one is overlapping it...
Is there an end?

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

My android phone is quite slow, so the game was a little laggy... I uncovered a few lines, I don't thnik I got the whole story, 10 seconds isn't much time. Make a windows port! :D

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18pm

@rejome
Indeed, there may be conflicts between two tags.
Yes there is a kind of end...

@Brejlounek
Sorry... my code is not sufficiently optimized.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I haven't android, but it seems to be great. I like the new interpretation of narrativ exploration. (The cloud word look like heavy rain system)

vandriver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

There's not a lot of feedback to direct what works and doesn't. I ended up just rapidly clicking all the words I could see hoping for some new effects. Not sure if I won or lost!

The idea seems cool, and the memories were entertaining. Just a bit confusing.

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Really clever use of the theme, nicely done!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Solid 4 the game was amazing but really needs a windows port

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33pm

You should have put a Windows or Web version.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Android-only? bold choice. Hope it gets found!

Larzan says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:58am

Interesting game idea!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Nice idea, but clicking on specific words was a bit difficult.

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:49am

I really like the non-linearity of the game. I got stuck after a while, and couldn't figure out what to do with "Alex" or get much use out of "kitchen" which is probably where I needed to put together to proceed. Really innovative idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]