August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just 10 More Seconds!

by S0larCode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Just 10 More Seconds!" is a frantic, fast-paced, bullet-hellish game. Your goal is to survive through as many 10-second levels as possible.

Controls:
-Move using WASD
-Fire a counter-bullet by clicking in any direction


Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#393Fun3.11
#399Audio2.81
#497Theme3.24
#676Overall2.95
#941Graphics2.22
#975Innovation2.35
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

I love the screen shake when you get hit. I enjoyed playing this, successfully dodging through a fast coming wave is really fun. Great job

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Loved the lost screen with the static thingy!

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

You have what people ask in my game, feedback when hit, nice game nice job :)

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

As you suspected, this didn't run on my Mac. It looks like it might work if you changed forward slashes in the paths instead of backslashes. Does that break paths on Windows? I forget. It's been a while since I did a game in Java.

Anyway, I saw shader loading and OGG and a whole lot of interesting technical details go by, unfortunately as part of exception stack traces. Too bad. See you next LD!

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I liked the way you handled health - its pretty cool and much more interesting than just a health bar.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very nice game. It's got really cool music and art.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Really awesome! Did indeed have me frantically moving about trying to avoid all of it and shooting

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Rad

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Funny music :) Good job!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

This was fun and crazy, love the screen cracking!

bitowl says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:38pm

backslashed does as well not work under linux. forward slashes should probably work everywhere.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I love how the screen cracks and shakes upon being hit. Great stuff!

Gidaio says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:31am

Huh. The screen cracking effect didn't work on my machine (Windows 8 64 bit) for some reason. I was about to say that one of my only real changes would be some indication of lives left, which apparently were totally intended to be there. Anyways, fun game, although around level seven the relative speeds of you and the bullets you're avoiding are such that there's not much you can do but die. Good music, as well. It wasn't initially obvious what the significance of the ten seconds was - maybe if the screen cleared at ten seconds and upon death the clock reset back to the beginning of ten seconds then the levels would feel more distinct from each other, but then again, I am heavily influenced by VVVVVV, so my idea of "good" may just be "similar to VVVVVV", which that would be.

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:36am

please compile even to *.exe

Katamori says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Some better graphics and a life-counter would have made this game even more better, but still good as it is. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]