August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Loop

by Blizzil - Jam Entry

A simple Side-Scrolling Shooter, where you have 10 seconds to live, so you need to collect orbs to stay alive, while trying to kill enemies to score points.

If you fail to collect enough orbs you die, but you can't have more time than the maximum of 10 seconds.

There is no end, it is just a high-score hunt (the high-score list is NOT saved after the game is quitted!)

Controls:
------------

Move ... Arrow Keys
Shoot ... Ctrl
Pause ... Esc

Tools used:
---------------

* Programming: Flash (IDE: FlashDevelop / Engine: Flixel)
* Art: Inkscape
* Music: Bfxr & Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#443Graphics(Jam)2.71
#471Audio(Jam)1.94
#472Humor(Jam)1.58
#511Overall(Jam)2.59
#513Fun(Jam)2.32
#514Theme(Jam)2.53
#541Mood(Jam)1.96
#600Innovation(Jam)1.88

Comments

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Classic scroll shooter with nice time twist. In the end, I found out it is better to be cautious and rather collect time than shoot everything.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Good shooter! The graphics is simple but nice :)

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06pm

My high score: 94. Always good to see more shmups in Ludum Dare!

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Scored 87, didn't play for long. Got all the basics, wasn't blown out of the sky by the idea though.

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I think you need work more the concept. The idea looks like a time runner, so the speed looks very essential to the mood of the game. Any way, nice work with the boosters.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Okay game, but you should have made the sky scroll, had some music in the background. More enemies and things. currently it's a bit too simple and lacks speed.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

I agree that you should work on the concept more, it's such a cool idea. Reminds me of playing Torus Trooper back in the day.

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:58am

really cool shooter )) my score 90!!! )))) awesome!

Mesene says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice! pretty solid.
At the beginning I was swapping over desktops at Mac (ctrl+arrow) but I managed to play :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice little shmup. Got a bit boring fast. More enemy types might have helped and some music? :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]