August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ready Or Not

by godan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you must guide your party (Blue Dots) through a city maze in search of a way out. Your mission depends on secrecy and stealth, so in order to succeed you must stay well out of the line of sight of numerous enemy patrols (Red Dots). If caught, a member of your party will be escorted to...well...no one really knows. They don't come back, though. You must arrive at each exit point (Blue Arrow) with at least three party members.

To control your party, click on a party member to select, then click the anywhere on the scene to set their goal point. The will try their best to get there. You can also hit "A" to select your whole party at once.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#197Innovation3.52
#330Audio2.94
#356Overall3.26
#371Mood2.97
#538Fun2.94
#563Graphics2.87
#742Humor1.95
#1148Theme1.97

Comments

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

A bit short and the natures version of zebra rushing the river works fine here also so there isn't any strategy really. Just go in a horde, rush and leave the slow behind. But I do like this one, and would like to the see the mechanic expanded a bit. Than it would be an interesting and dynamic action puzzle =) Great style btw! Also captured dots gets recaptured over and over again, which was a bit tedious.

godan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

@Brassawiking Yep, there's definitely room for more tactics. The fact that captured dots get chased again and again was a typo - so I've fixed that...

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Cool game, really like the idea of sneaking across a top down world. Would be fun to start the game with a easier level then ramp up.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

busted! those guards are very aggressive. good game

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I really like the look of things, and the sound, and the little camera moves, and the concept.

It's REALLY hard though. Unless I'm missing something, it just seems like there are too many guards to realistically sneak through.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice atmosphere and very smart. Could do with more incentives to split up your party, but that would be a lot to ask for 48 hours. Good work!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice although challenging even at lower levels - it felt sort of unbeatable at some points, maybe it just needs some getting used to :)

Ow, I also loved the minimalistic graphics - a programmer's best option ;)

I did a similar thing for my game and then painted the balls over with random unity materials (skyboxes, terrain materials, particles - you'll find something that fits your style :P) which, be it random as it may, looks interesting ^_^

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Neat concept. Maybe I'm wrong, but there didn't seem to be enough room for trying various strategies. The bad guys can see further than is apparent from the blue vision cones. It also could have used a box select so that you can issue commands to multiple guys at the same time. Have to click a bunch becomes a major slowdown (unless you're a pro Starcraft player).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Hmmm, not bad.
There seems to be a bug that when you lose too many men in one level, the number of men isn't reset when you restart that level. You start again with only two men, and lose right away... Otherwise, cool idea!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Pretty challenging but it was a fun strategy game.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

very unique concept. i really like the spin down camera work and the rotating guys right before they bust you.

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Nice simple art and sounds, feels good

CuberToy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

Nice to play, really original game mecanics. Smooth and simple art and sounds. Nice overall.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

I really like this concept. The stealth element is pretty cool. I think it could have benefited a lot to have some cool characters. Still awesome tho.

3beards says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Control groups would be nice. So that you could sacrifice one easier to distract while issuing a command to the remaining units.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Cool 3D graphics and easy understanding control. If the narrow path are acceptable single person, it will be more fun. :)

Zap says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:03am

I love the presentation and the sounds - really set the mood.
I experienced a bug where I was stuck with three dots, even when I got Game Over and started again.
Pretty solid entry (although, from what I can see, nothing to do with ten seconds :S)

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:27am

The pathfinding on this is pretty great, good job. Very difficult!

Attrition says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:04am

Great concept, fits the theme nicely. My strategy was one of sacrifice :) Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]