August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fat-Guy-In-A-Batman-Costume-Man Rises

by sev_inf - Jam Entry

Villians want to ruin geek's convention, and only you - Fat-Guy-In-A-Batman -Costume-Man - can save it! Yes you are the true hero! Or not? Then why do you wearing this superhero's costume? Anyway, try to keep yourself and other geeks away from this bombs - they kind a 10 seconds dangerous.
You have great allies - powerups! Yeah, with them you can perform loud shout to scare geeks away from bombs! You can even find a defuse kit, to disable all bombs!

Tips:
- You lose if you are the only one attendant left;
- You can hide bombs in flowerpots or trashcans;
- You can scare away geeks if you have a power up.

Controls:

Z/Y/W - pick/drop a bomb, use a staircase;
X - use powerup.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Humor(Jam)3.66
#108Graphics(Jam)3.97
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#290Overall(Jam)3.13
#317Audio(Jam)2.75
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#323Mood(Jam)2.83
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

This looks fantastic and has a very interesting and enjoyable game mechanic with a quirky point of view. :) Awesome animations too, cool take on the theme. :) Rated highly. :)

cobrajs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43am

Graphics and audio were very well done. It was pretty fun just running around and shouting at people. Near the end it got like "Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb" :)

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

This game is pretty great~ It has a nice concept, fits the theme, some pretty cool graphics, a catchy beat, and (best of all) Batman.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21am

You get high ratings from me too. It is somewhat frustrating that its so easy to drop the bomb when trying to use the stairs though.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

FAT SHREDDER FTW

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

The mechanic wasn't obvious, the graphics are funny.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Cool pixels and nice theme, it reminds me a lot of the Geek culture, I like it :) But I think the control is a bit wierd, why the input buttons are "ZYW"? Is it some kind of joke that I don't get the point? Nicely done overall :)

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Z / W / Y - performs the same action. So you can play using only Z X buttons.
We added W and Y buttons, because on German and French keyboards there is W and Y buttons instead of Z.

We had bad feedbacks because of this issue in the past.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Great idea with great graphics, good work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

haha enjoyed it. simple premise and gameplay but ends up being pretty fun! love the pixel art and the different characters. cool, fun entry!

mboaj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

I love the overall look and feel. It is really funny. I found myself at little bit in distress with the keys. I'd rather go with the four arrows for up/down the stairs and left/right. But overall it is a great entry.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

The graphics and soundtrack are great! The game's concept is neat and funny.

The control scheme was a little confusing though, imho.

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Should probably have made pick up bomb and use stairs a different button, I was frequently entering stairs when I was trying to pick up a bomb that had spawned on them.
Good job though, very funny idea and the graphics are great :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Love the character! Game is a bit tricky to figure out though.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

The game is a bit confusing at the beginning, but the graphics are really cool and funny.

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:28pm

simply a very nice game
well done :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Always love for Batman. Crazy and fun game! Sometimes the bombs spawned right before the staircases and were a bit tricky to pick up. Otherwise a nice game :)

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Really enjoyed the art, well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]