August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Defense

by tomsik68 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you need to defend your castle against some creatures from the forest. They're coming constantly, so you need to shoot them. Each wave of enemies takes 10 seconds. I thought it would be interesting to create a defensive-style game where you only had 10 seconds, so here it is. The game can be played up to infinity until you don't run out of money/lives/patiency :)

== Gameplay ==
You play as a mage on the left side of your screen. You move around to pickup gold chunks, which randomly appear there. Enemies are coming from right and you need to use your abilities to shoot them. After 10 seconds, wave ends and you'll be redirected to shop, where you can purchase some abilities/upgrades. And then it repeats.
== Controls ==
Use left & right arrow to move your character.
Up & down arrows are used for ability switching(currently selected ability is the small icon above your head).

Use mouse to aim & left mouse button to shoot(you don't have to press it, just hold it or purchase Perma Shoot in shop[free])

To purchase in shop, double-click the item you're interested in.
== My personal thoughts of this game ==
This game definitely not going to win LD. There are better games out there. However, after 16 hours of programming this game, I got addicted to it! Really, it's the first game I created and got addicted to, which is a good sign :) | Graphics are my regular style (90's windows graphics), sound is just sfxr + autotracker, so it's not any good. However, as many wise people say: "Graphics is not important if the gameplay is good".

So I hope you like & enjoy the game! If you have any questions, I'll gladly answer them in the comments section below.

== How to run ==
First of all, you'll need java runtime, which can be downloaded at http://java.com/
Download the cross-platform zip archive & extract it. Then, notice 2 files named RUNTHIS. Windows users run RUNTHIS.bat, MAC/Linux users run RUNTHIS.sh
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other platforms are currently unsupported, as the archive doesn't include natives. But if you download LWJGL natives for your platform & place them to "natives" folder, you can copy command from RUNTHIS.sh and run it via command line :).
If you're interested in how the game was created, check my twitch channel at http://twitch.tv/tomsik68 and you can find the whole progress(except sound making) in the past broadcasts section.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#419Humor2.50
#506Audio2.63
#730Theme2.97
#730Fun2.71
#809Mood2.41
#841Overall2.76
#1035Innovation2.21
#1082Graphics1.94

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Hey tomsik, I watched your stream for awhile while we were working on our games! (I made the wire cutting game.) I think your game turned out great. I love the gold/shop idea. I think if you expanded from here, the game could have some really cool potential. Great work

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

Thank you, I've focused on the extensible API very much, so adding new stuff was really easy just few hours before submission :)

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

Cool background music, nice drawings. :D

Had to run it with sudo, otherwise I got this: http://pastebin.com/vWsXmvhn

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

One more thing: would have been nice if the contents of the zip file were in a folder. If you unzip it like this in you're downloads folder the thing is all over the place. ^^

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nicely done. I struggled with the fact that your shots are so slow, on my first attempt I barely hit anything. It really needs some time to get used to it (for me anyway), but once I did, it was quite rewarding. Unlocking new weapons is a nice addition and provides enough motivation for playing it several times, which is always nice.
One thing that you definitely should have added imho is a sound effect when an enemy reaches the base. Often I just wasn't sure whether I killed them or not. And suddenly I had no lifes left. :D

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22am

Graphics kills the game so bad ! but audio is good :)

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27am

@sirtetris: I'm unsure about the error, since I'm on Linux myself & it runs perfectly. It has something to do with pulseaudio & OpenAL Sorry for the ZIP, I've re-packaged it so it doesn't spam your downloads folder ;)

@ShellfishGames Thank you for good feedback on the game. The sound when enemy passes is a good idea :)

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

@GNecro1 Yeah, I admit it, I'm bad at drawing :D

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

Interesting idea, nice audio. Needs some more graphics work, but the core game is there.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59am

Nice game. It After a few rounds it gets a bit tedious, but I like the idea. Especially that you get to buy stuff after each wave. I am one of those people that get motivated with an economic or xp based reward system. All in all, a nice game :-)

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

Cool music, enemy's come on a little strong but overall cool game.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

@RedMike Well, I need to get better in graphics :)

@Mekuri I wanted to add more things to shop, but 48h is 48h :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Funny end screen :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I enjoyed playing, but man those beasties are tough, they just keep on coming. I like the fact you had time to build shop, nice touch!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19pm

A nice little game, which is effectively quite addictive. I had a hard time shooting ennemies down at first, because electric shots are slow, but once you got fireballs upgraded three or four times, you can just spawncamp the gold and kill all walking ennemies with an almost literal wall of fire. Which. Is. Cool!
The shop was nice, and I liked the different powerups (especially the perma-shoot : more games should be inspired by that feature). However, I never was able to purchase an extra life : the price seemed to rocket up to high for me to follow, even by camping the gold and killing all ennemies.
The audio was a nice addition, however any kind of sound effect for when an ennemy hit your base would be useful, seeing as the "lives left" indicator is far away from the main play area. That, or move it to the castle!
Graphics were simple at best, but that did not keep me from enjoying the game.
Finally, here is a tip for those who cannot shoot ennemies : try to fire ahead of the ennemy instead of right at him. Also, buy fireballs as soon as possible and burn stuff down.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

@lazyeels Thanks :)

@Delca I totally agree it's addictive, because as I wrote above, I got addicted to this too :). Here's a little story on the perma-shoot ability: I've been testing the game for an hour. Then two. Then I added shop, things were starting to get more and more complicated, so I needed to play the game further. After few rounds, I felt my finger so bad I couldn't continue, so I added the perma-shoot ability which in fact saved my finger :D
I'm sorry about the extra life price, but I wanted to keep the game balanced, so the extra life gets more and more expensive over time, because you also get more gold...
But anyways, I'm glad so much people like the game :D Didn't really expect that :P

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:54am

Good fun and simple defence game, i liked it :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

SImple funny little game :) Nice job with this entry!

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nicely done ! A literal tower defense game, with sweet little power-up and stuff. Maybe a little to hard in the beginning ?
Sweet anyway :D

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:46am

I downloaded the Java, ran the "Run" file, and still couldnt open it. :/ I wish I could so I could have added it to my LD27 compilation video... sorry

tomsik68 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:22pm

@Sh1rogane, @doonay21, @Laelien Thanks guys :)

@Jupiter_Hadley did you extract all the files? You can't run it in a zip archive, as the game needs all the files in archive...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]