August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Survive

by Andresh - Jam Entry

Goal is to survive as long as possible with Bombs appearing randomly in the screen as well as deadly Triangles that once 10s have passed will move to the other edge of the screen.

Source files distributed with the .zip files.

Control using the mouse.

Library used: Processing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Innovation(Jam)3.08
#245Theme(Jam)3.19
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#393Overall(Jam)2.89
#577Graphics(Jam)2.00
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

Awesome! The graphics were meh, and a score would be nice, but all things aside, this is great!

Andresh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Just did a small update with MacOS, Linux versions and a timer.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53am

Simple but nice idea. I like that you have to watch the two enemy types at the same time. This makes it surprisingly difficult.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

cool game polish and it will be great.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Indeed, having to watch to kind of ennemies make it interesting and hard as they come from everywhere !
It's hard after a minute ! Quickly highly challenging !
I like it :)

ananasblau says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Haha, brilliant idea, it takes the whole urgency from those avoid-games. Still, if you were to pulsate the arrows and blocks on their last three seconds it would regain some of that urgency. Some defensive matters would be nice as well, say I were allowed to de-fuse and drag'n'drop the blocks to use them as one-time-walls against the arrows.

It is a good base for something really new and exciting. Keep working on it!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

This was pretty cool.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

so simple but so fun. like a good bullet hell shooter.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:14am

It was alright. Looks like a nice idea, although.. the game kept freezing randomly for me.

HeroesGrave says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:46am

Doesn't work for me.

Launching with Terminal gives me an unsatisfied link error.

I'm on Arch Linux 64-bit.

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:53am

This is an effective distillation of "avoid" type games. I think the biggest benefit would come from some more attention spent on graphics (perhaps colors/shapes to indicate time remaining?)

4xisblack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:02am

I find it interesting that although the game gives me enough information to position my cursor properly before anything bad happens, I still prefer to try reacting to feedback at the last possible moment. This might be because our eyes are better at detecting motion in peripheral vision than, say, reading those numbers as they count downward.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Simple idea, and looks deceptively easy at the beginning. But then there is a rapid change from that to frantic movement. Loved it, even with the very crude graphics and no sound!

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:27am

The Linux file doesn't work.
HOWEVER, after copying the source into Processing, it worked perfectly, and I really enjoyed it! The rectangle's explosions are a little small and are very easy to avoid, but otherwise it's a really fun little game!

Andresh says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Ill take a look into the Linux file, it is strange since the 2 other builds worked. I'll update this as soon as I can.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:45am

Nice work! Would have liked sounds. I also found you can just stick in a corner and be reasonable safe. 6/10.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:31am

Loved it! I really like the idea, and its execution was done well :D Please add sound and music, and I could get addicted to this!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Great job.. graphics isn't all!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]