August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TimeStep

by Jellycakes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a secret agent with an advanced stop watch that can stop time itself!

I didn't have a lot of time to add a lot of levels but I think I did ok anyway.

Edit: No music, that breaks one of the compo rules. Updated links to include no more music.

Double Edit: Friendlier Linux download with tar.gz compression

Bugs:

-The Linux x84_64 version doesn't display any text save for the title text

Special Thanks:

-JellyMan64
-Jicken
-Roseninja

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#188Overall3.48
#219Fun3.37
#328Theme3.39
#382Graphics3.19
#411Mood2.91
#521Innovation3.00
#552Audio2.56
#645Humor2.08

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47am

Erm, don't you need source? Just asking. Still, looks amazing, I'll play!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48am

Dropbox 404 error... Please fix the link!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52am

Links are updated now, was using the hour of submission :P

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10am

Also quick note: I'm removing the music since that breaks one of the rules of the 48 hour compo. So no music links uploading soon.

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Watching you make this game via Twitch was very entertaining!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Nice! I really like the art style actually. Great idea too. For future versions, maybe also have enemies that can *only* move when the others are frozen?

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

It was a great game following the theme, besides the bugs. It was a good game.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Great mechanic

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

Fantastic game! It's a lot to ask (because I know you did it in 3d) but this game could use some cleaned up AI.

Also, I seemed to have buckets of health! I didn't even discover the 10 second clock until level two!

Great job jellycakes!

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

It is a good game and i injoied watching you model it but you could model the enemy better i know you could do it :D

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Great game! :D

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Very nice game! The 10 second timestopper watch was a very nice use of the theme! Although not much innovation because there were ALOT of shooters. It was fun i enjoyed playing, The graphics were very minimal but i liked them, reminds me of old fps's. It would have been a bit better with some music. not much humor, and the mood was very good, overall really nice game!

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Good game, good concept, the levels work like Doom's levels. That good! :)

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

hmm don't get the 10 second thing in it

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

Runs perfect, sounds cool, mechancis fits the theme, artwork is simple and cool... But I feel like a amok running gunslinger ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

I won! 4 shots to the head seems excessive :0) Had a lot of fun with this one, good job.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

awesome game a lot of fun, like the idea good work.

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

It was pretty fun to freeze time, shoot 3 enemies, run past them and grab the key card, then watch them all fall to the ground. With enemy pathfinding it could even be balanced into a bigger game (so it would be harder to hide while your time recharges). Great work for the compo though!

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

Creepy, disturbing, and exciting.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01am

Nice Game! I love the animations for the enemies dying.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11am

This was actually quite fun hah, stopping time then pumping them full of lead was satisfying and the red decals on them added a lot when you shot them. I wish you could slow time down while its still charging or slow down time only for a short period though but I guess that would break the 10 second theme maybe hah. Good stuff!

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Game was way too easy, but very good idea and well made.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice minimalistic graphics! I also like how the enemies fall after they're killed.

Also, nice work on the level design!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Good work for 48 hours!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Quite fun, like the style and feel of this game. A really nice attempt for 48 hours, good work! Rated highly. :)

MrBlade says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice work. Has a goldeneye feel. Haha. Loved the time stopping mechanic. This game was executed really well. Graphics were good, sound was well done. 8/10.

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great work! I'd really like to play more levels :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Fun game, and I love the old-school 3D textures and geometry. The sound effect of freezing time was haunting and cool.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I had fun with this game ...could be great with more work

kristof says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Cool FPS! I made it through. It is a bit easy, as the AI is kind of dumb. But I know how difficult that can be to program. Nice entry!

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

nice game!
After judging please add more levels and guns!

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

overall its a fun game. Although the graphics are simple they are consistent so it has ha solid feel to it. It seemed like you could shoot the guys in the head as many times as you wanted and they wouldn't die. Not sure if that was intended. Still great game!

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Awesome game,i really liked the time pausing mechaninc. The only thing i have to say is about headshot, it's kind of strange to shoot 4 bullets in the head to kill them.
Anyway it was a really fun experience, good job :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Thanks for the live review a few days ago! It took some time, but I finally have time to review your game. So - here we go:


I won! Yeah, there weren't a lot of levels, but it's enough to find out that the mechanics work well and are fun! When the time started flowing again, it was a cool feeling watching all those enemy agents suddenly fall over.

The graphics are simple but convey the feeling of walking through a complex. The ties are a nice touch!

The missing music is a shame though. If you can't make any yourself, I suggest you take a look at http://abundant-music.com - it's a generator with a surprisingly high quality. The sound effects work quite well though.

Two suggestions:
- Add a time limit or something else that is pressuring you. Normally I don't like that, but otherwise the 10-second-stopwatch-reloading turns into a waiting game: If you want to play the game perfectly, don't move and hide until it's reloaded.
- Make a mini map. It's really easy to get lost in complexes like that if you have no sense of orientation like me. It can be done in minutes by having a second camera that only sees the walls and the player with a really small viewport.
- Have the enemies follow you when they saw you. You don't even need pathfinding for that: Just let the player leave a trail with a time marker (http://dragonlab.de/projects/ld25/trail.png). Then you can let the enemy go where he last saw the player and follow his trail.

A fun and interesting entry, if a little bit short. If you make a post-compo version, let me know please!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Eh, make that "Three suggestions". I can't count anymore.

("Our chief weapon is surprise...surprise and fear...fear and surprise.... Our two weapons are fear and surprise...and ruthless efficiency.... Our *three* weapons are fear, surprise, and ruthless efficiency...and an almost fanatical devotion to the Pope.... Our *four*...no... *Amongst* our weapons.... Amongst our weaponry...are such elements as fear, surprise.... I'll come in again.")

doonay21 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:28pm

It reminds me Wolfenstein 3D :D:D:D Good job!

nSun says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Stop watch is great. No worries with AI, but 4 headshot to kill that's too much for my opinion...

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nicely done ;). Gret work.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Great! Timestopping made it quite easy :) enemies/soud/graphics etc could be alittle better, but this is great for 48 hours! :D

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:45am

This is very cool!
You know what would be great with this? One shot bloody head explosions. That would make this totally awesome.
Watching the enemies fall down just isn't as satisfying...

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:59pm

@theholychicken

I had the idea that when time has been stopped, all these bullets you've fired at them accumulate. So imagine about 18 pistol bullets entering the head all the same time when time unfreezes. Gibs!

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Cool game! Simple mechanics with fun gameplay. Like it a lot.

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I enjoyed this!
I hope that you make a post-compo version as well

antonijn says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Quite a nice little game for 48 hours (actually watched a bit of the development when I wasn't streaming myself ;) ), although the best strategy seemed to be a bit silly: you just waited until you could freeze time and then you shot everyone, repeat. Still quite a cool game ;)

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This one brought back fond memories of Wolfenstein 3D and Blake Stone! The pathfinding made it a bit easier than it should have been, but it's a really fun piece. :)

The mechanics work well and the graphics and sound were surprisingly effective. Make the enemies a little smarter and add some more variety, and I think you got a good piece for Kongregate here. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]