Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bear Pong - tower07 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Okay, so you're at this pong tournament, right?
All of a sudden this bear shows up and you freak all out.
You run around and panic, but after 10 seconds it just stops.
The tournament will go on whether you're there or not.
Can you make it back in time?

(I know the installer is painful, but please BEAR with me!)

I apologize my fellow Ludum-Darers (correct terminology I promise Gandalf told me it was legit) I seemed to have done a... boo-boo. I didn't realize that public domain images of side-view bears aren't allowed in the compo! Gandalf and I sincerely apologize. We were only trying to save you from his (my) awful pixel artistry. We will try harder next time!

View tower07's journal. | View all entries by tower07

Ratings

#16Humor4.05
#359Audio2.90
#526Fun2.96
#585Mood2.69
#587Innovation2.91
#891Overall2.70
#925Theme2.70
#1043Graphics2.04
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

ehnaton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Sorry,dude, but it wants directx 8. I have 11th one :(

Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Same With me! Unable to play.

tower07 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Oh geez. I'm working on a fix now!

tower07 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I think I've fixed it! Putting it in a launcher format seemed to take care of the problem.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

Sry I'm not an installer kind of guy.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

dx8 doesn't work for me.
I dislike having installers, though I installed anyways


hahah amusing!
that was very unexpected and quite awesome.

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Thank you for dealing with the installer! :D

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Works, its interesting!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

What are you doing that you need DirectX8? Isn't that 10 years old at this point?

Anyway, That's pretty funny. It's not polished, but the core concept of "random interruption of gameplay which puts player out of position" has promise.

Is it possible to actually beat the computer? The actual pong part seems not so great, since the ball's Velocity is not affected by the player's approach. You can't fake out the computer in any way.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Hahahahaha! This definitely gets 5 stars for humor!

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

An instaler? Directx8? Why?

But ok, anyway I had installed it and its very funny! Its worths the installation.
Take care of my 4 stars, next time, no instaler, ok?

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

LOL

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I have no idea why this is so great. But it is! BEAR TIME!

Only trouble is that, after bear time, the pong game is pretty much totally broken. The other paddle stops moving, maybe the ball stops moving -- pretty much doesn't work anymore. But I can't remember the last time I laughed that hard at a game.

Amber says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:06am

Okay, so disclaimer, I've had kind of a lot of wine right now, but this is the best thing ever. Is that Wagner? Obviously needs some polish but I am laughing like crazy right now.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:32pm

WHAT

WHAT IS THIS

ITS AMAZING

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:36am

Haha, man I am glad I installed and played this game :D

michail says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Sorry for pointing this out, but using graphics from Internet (the bear picture) is not allowed under COMPO rules - so this entry should be in fact submitted as jam. (read: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/16/a-quick-reminder-read-the-rules/ ).
Remember to read the rules carefully next time ;)

Mandraw says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:04pm

when i installed this game i tought : this will be the first time i will uninstall a game after playing only one time...

FALSE !

I will keep this gamle on my pc and show it to all of my friends : this game is amazing !( I will actually not talk to them about the bear XD)

tower07 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

@michail I see now. I won't do that next time. However, the game served it's purpose, so I don't really care that it won't be judged in the compo. (As long as I don't have to take it down, that is.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]