August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds Second

by soulrot - Jam Entry

A 'puzzle' game by OxySocks and Soulrot, created with Unity.

Get the special 'Second' unit to the exit within 10 seconds and more importantly: keep him alive!

Unfortunately we ended up with only 2 levels and less mechanics than we had hoped, but.. have fun!

EDIT: In response to feedback in the comments, the web version of the game now uses "SPACE" to place waypoints instead of RMB!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#305Theme(Jam)3.04
#345Innovation(Jam)2.86
#468Mood(Jam)2.39
#473Audio(Jam)1.90
#484Overall(Jam)2.67
#507Graphics(Jam)2.48
#578Fun(Jam)2.00
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

Controls jammed on web version due to right clicking.

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Nice idea, but the yellow square seems to fall through the floor when you commence your plan of attack..

soulrot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Feysoura: selecting "fullscreen mode" on the first right click prevents getting more of those context-menus. At least it did for us :/

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice idea! But you should change RMB input because of web version

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I think the game is glitched, I've tried a ton of different ways but the yellow guy just randomly dies before he reaches the end. I have no idea how to stop that from happening :x Nice concept though, could be fun to see more if it explained itself a little more.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I couldn't get my cubes to the exit, they always died :(
Also, having buttons more closely together (like enter and backspace instead of space and del) makes the game smoother to play.

I think the concept is pretty neat and can be expanded upon!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Wasn't able to get the first level unfortunately. Tried a bunch of times but I must kind of suck. :) I like the idea of planning my path through the space.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Kinda confusing to start, but the idea behind it sounds great. Try working in a post-compo version, guys.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I was confused about how to do it, but I got it in the end, nice idea :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:00am

Interesting concept... I think you guys should keep developing this!

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I like the concept a lot. I wish the walls were transparent or that you could rotate the camera; it was kind of a pain to get to some of the units and see some of the traps. I'm also not 100% sure I finished the second level like it was supposed to. (I just made an all-out charge for the exit)

Niggles aside, I think you made a great entry. There's variety in terms of obstructions, and there were interesting level design elements. It's a bit rough, but I think it got potential.

Looking forward to see what you guys come up with in future jams! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]