August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hijack Humans Hastily

by zeh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use 10 seconds of thruster fuel to capture 10 humans so you can go back to your planet.

Requires Flash.

Use keyboard (arrows/A/D and space), or try with a gamepad (left stick and action button).

Notes:
* The level changes every time you play.
* This was made for Adobe AIR primarily. It's running on the web, but if you switch too between fullscreen and normal screen too many times, you may lose the 3d context. Reload if that happens, sorry.

OUYA notes:
* To install, either (1) download the OUYA file above using the OUYA web browser (use the short url http://bit.ly/17YF1jj) or (2) download it on your PC and install it using "adb install LD27_10Seconds_ouya.apk" if you have ADB installed and the OUYA connected to your PC
* After installed, the game is on the "MAKE" menu.
* To quit the game, press the "START" button twice (standard)
* After you quit the game, it won't work a second time - something about suspended apps. Run another game first, then you can go back to HHH.
* It will work on Android, but you need a gamepad (XBox, PS3, etc), Android 4+, and the orientation is wrong :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#284Graphics3.36
#324Humor2.67
#489Mood2.81
#592Fun2.88
#610Overall3.00
#686Theme3.03
#714Innovation2.76
#749Audio2.18

Comments

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

Fun little game, thought it lacked audio, but had great collisions and good moving sound for the spaceship.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

Good job, although the main theme about 10 seconds was a bit missing.

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice! I like the exploration of OUYA and the graphics are awesome. The game is rather simple but it might be fun on the console. Awesome that it works on ouya though, good job

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

I felt the controls a little bit wonky, but it was fun to play it. Gotta love the random ;)

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

its hard controlling ufo, I rather watch someone playing this

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Nice game good job, but if it wasn't for the game-pad support
i wouldn't of gotten very far.
So thanks for that.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Lacked music. Could have been more fast paced.

apaneske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Tricky little game :) Game crashed for me once after having collected enough humans "Fatal error: Lost connection to device".

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:10am

Very fun!!! Well made too! You should have included in the game itself that you have 10 seconds of fuel, because some people like @Tanser don't read the description :/

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:16am

What an interesting little strategy game. Really liked it. Good Job!

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:16am

nice

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:19am

+1 Just for the OUYA support! Played it on Windows, but I wish I could try it on that cute little console :)

Nice little game, I love the graphics. The game is kinda hard, having only 10 seconds of fuel, but it was fun anyways. Good job! :D

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

Very cute game with just the right amount of challenge. The randomness makes some playthroughs much harder or easier than others, but that does encourage replay value.

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Very good gamefeel for the saucer :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Fun game :-) - Occasionally one of the humans would get stuck in the buildings, but apart from that the game felt polished. I liked the graphics, and nice use of the theme. (Didn't actually try to spend all my fuel at once, but I take your word that there's 10 seconds worth of fuel).

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Funny concept :D

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Fun little game! Love the concept. It was pretty easy once I figured out what to do. Web version crashed on the win screen (was playing it fullscreen if that helps). Good humor! :)

Jimanzium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:06am

Pressing any key didn't seem to do anything?

Jimanzium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:09am

Doesn't matter, works now

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]