August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flying Trojan Horse

by RARoadkill - Jam Entry

You are a member of the special Flying Trojan Horse task force. You must launch yourself into the evil wizard's fortress and open the draw bridge. However after 10 seconds the wizard will fling you into space. Ring Bells to give yourself more time.

Controls
WASD- Movement
F- Launch
R- Reset Level
Left Mouse- Move Catapult
I- Increase Power
K- Decrease Power

Simply run near switches to trigger them

This game was lots of fun to make. Few things I would like to improve but for the most part it works pretty well. I ran out of time and wasn't able to texture a few of my models, and a couple of placeholders had to be drafted into service as complete models. I find the windows full screen version is the most fun to play, but the web version works fine.

Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#109Humor(Jam)3.18
#191Audio(Jam)3.13
#246Innovation(Jam)3.07
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#330Graphics(Jam)3.12
#345Fun(Jam)2.80
#389Overall(Jam)2.90
#488Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

The mechanic is interesting, though I don't think it follows the theme too well.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

@Vile Smile Well you only have 10 seconds once you enter the castles

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

So fun flying around.
Nice castles.
Music was awesome.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Flinging yourself around was a lot of fun, but it was rather hard and I often got confused about where to go :)

syradinegames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

Not bad, interesting mechanic. I think making the mechanic to get in easier to experience the 10 second would have been cool

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

I picked the catapult up, and then when I set it down it kind of rotated into the ground, so then I couldn't launch myself. Going to try again...

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

@Zer0Kelvin Yeah thats one of those glitches that kept popping up. I'm hoping to fix that in a post jam version

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:40am

This is silly fun.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Interesting premise!
Flying around is fun and being thrown into outer space is funny :P

I just found the I/K/F button combination to be a little counter-intuitive.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

got difficult pretty quick, lot of fun flying around though

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

I like the 3D content of this game especially the castles :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

This appeals to the inner catapult-loving child we all have. The game has a few issues and whatnot but it was definitely fun. Congrats!

RadJor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

Loved the music. Got me excited about the game. Great job with the models and the concept. It was definitely fun, but a bit awkward to get right.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:41am

All-around, it's pretty good.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:52am

Cool idea! Loved flying around! Music sets the mood. Nice job!

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Haha love the narration, music and concept. Great job puttin it together :)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:35am

The flying feeling is awesome.
Puzzles are interesting, but sometimes I found a bit hard to set the catapults in the right way.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:35am

Top notch graphics, but I didn't find the gameplay very interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]